LibGuides: Education: Journals & Databases

Key Databases

Databases are large collections of online journals and other resources. These databases are recommended for studies in Education. Some are highly specialized while others cover education and other subject areas. If your research has a New Zealand focus, also check out the NZ Databases tab.

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
ERIC is a publicly available website of Education research, developed and maintained by the Institute of Education Sciences at the U.S. Department of Education. The collection is made up of a large collection of academic journals, plus grey literature (e.g. government reports or funded research) and books / chapters. Research from NZCER is indexed in this database. If there are no options to access the entire document from the results in ERIC, try looking for the item in Library Search | Ketu.
NZCER journals online
This database alllows you to search across the NZCER journals Set, Early Childhood Folio, Curriculum Matters and Assessment Matters. Articles are available to download as pdfs
Journal Surf
An online catalogue of the School Journal and associated resources for the classroom. This database requires an additional login - for access details please email: eresources.library@otago.ac.nz
Education Research Complete (via the EbscoHost platform)
NZCER publications
Access research conducted by NZCER.
A+ Education (via Informit platform)
Contains research on various topics relevant to education, including teaching and teacher training. This database was developed in partnership with the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER).
Education database (via the ProQuest platform)
Search for education and teaching research, spanning primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.

The following databases cover multiple subject areas, including education.

Taylor & Francis online
The database of a major academic publisher in education and other disciplines (humanities, social sciences, science and technology).

Academic Search Complete (via EBSCOhost)
Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 10,000 journals, with full-text coverage for more than 6.000 titles. Covers a wide range of areas of academic study from the sciences to the arts.
JSTOR
Provides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. The Library's access includes all Arts & Sciences Collections, the Life Sciences Collection, Business IV, and the Ireland Collection.
ProQuest Central
A leading electronic database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. It combines information from a number of leading online databases with subjects covering: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.

Kanopy
Provides access to feature films and documentaries and programs to support a variety of courses. Search database by series name or browse categories (e.g. education). A full transcript of all films and series is provided and clips can be taken.

more... less...

Access:
1. Login
2. Enter your otago.ac.nz email address or password

If the above doesn't work:

1.Click, Get Started
2. Go to, 'Are you a student or professor?' and search for 'University of Otago'. If you are using the database while connected to UO network, you should gain access.
Google Scholar
A search engine (rather than a database) that filters your results to peer reviewed (research based) publications.

These database provide access to NZ research in all areas, including education.

Index New Zealand (INNZ)
This database retrieves results from three small collections of NZ information sources: INNZ - information about articles in a wide range of New Zealand and the South Pacific magazines, journals and newspapers; Te Puna Search - the national catalogue. Search for books across all NZ libraries; digitised resources from various NZ sites (e.g. Ministry of Education reports).

National Library of New Zealand Discovery Search
Simultaneously searches the National Library Catalogue, TAPUHI, Timeframes, Publications NZ, Index NZ, Te Puna Web Directory, Matapihi and findNZarticles.
NZ Research
Research documents produced at universities, polytechnics, and other research institutions throughout New Zealand; now hosted by DigitalNZ

The Hub
Search the repository of New Zealand government social science research. Topics include: education, health and wellbeing, crime and justice, families, children and young people.

Britannica School
A resource for teachers that includes versions of the Encyclopedia Britannica for primary, middle, and secondary school levels.
Math Solutions eBooks
Thi database includes the titles from independent publisher Math Solutions. These books are aimed at primary and early secondary school children and focus on improving the teaching and learning of mathematics. Books can be searched by topic, e.g. measurement,
Te Ara - Encyclopedia of New Zealand
A comprehensive guide to the country’s peoples, natural environment, history, culture, economy, institutions and society. Hosted by the Ministry for Culture and Heritage.
Te Kete Ipurangi (TKI)
A bilingual portal and web community which provides educational material for New Zealand teachers, school managers, and students. This site is soon to be taken over by Tāhūrangi.
Tāhūrangi - digital home for curriculum content and teaching resources
Journal Surf
An online catalogue of the School Journal and associated resources for the classroom. This database requires an additional login - for access details please email: eresources.library@otago.ac.nz
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online (Britannica Academic)
Encyclopedia entries plus thousands of additional articles and images. Search by keyword or A-Z browsing. Britannica Online is continually updated to provide the most current information possible.
ETV
Search TV programmes recorded from over 30 NZ and international television channels. Also able to stream some TV channels live. Recording of tv programmes can be requested and clips made to use as teaching resources.

more... less...

Login with your Otago.ac.nz email address and password.
CensusATSchool - resources page
Schools take part voluntarily, with students completing the survey during lesson time, then submitting their data to contribute to an international database. Results and sample data are made available to teachers once the ‘census’ is complete, with classroom resources released over time.

SAGE Research Methods
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. The database links SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.

The following is just a selection of the academic journal available in the Library collection. To find articles in across multiple journals, use Library Search | Ketu or check out the Databases.

Journal of New Zealand Studies
The Journal of New Zealand Studies is published annually in October by the Stout Research Centre for New Zealand Studies, Victoria University of Wellington. It is a peer-reviewed multidisciplinary journal which welcomes papers from any discipline which has a New Zealand focus
AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples
ISBN: 1174-1740

peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal published continuously online as well as in quarterly print issues. AlterNative publishes scholarly research on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonization from Indigenous perspectives from around the world.
Kōtuitui New Zealand journal of social science online
Mai Journal
MAI Journal publishes multidisciplinary peer-reviewed articles around indigenous knowledge and development in the context of Aotearoa New Zealand.
New Zealand Sociology
Disseminates & promotes research & thought that has the clarification & development of theoretically informed research in sociology & related disciplines with a predominant, though not exclusive, concern with New Zealand.

New Zealand Journal of Teachers' Work
A free, national peer-reviewed e-journal containing articles of interest to Early Childhood, Primary, Secondary and Tertiary teachers. The journal aims to disseminate New Zealand research on and by teachers and also other articles on current issues that may be of interest to teachers and prospective teachers.

Educational researcher
Educational Researcher (ER) publishes scholarly / academic / peerreviewed articles that are of general significance to the education research community and that come from a wide range of areas of education research and related disciplines.
Teaching and Teacher Education
ISBN: 1879-2480

Teaching and Teacher Education is an international journal concerned primarily with teachers, teaching, or teacher education situated in an international perspective or in an international context.
New Zealand international research in early childhood education
Find academic, peer-reviewed articles relating to early childhood education (from conception and up to eight years of age). Research relating to parenting, teaching and learning, improving outcomes for diverse children, bicultural and multicultural practices, child health, child care, and teacher education and professional development are particularly invited.
New Zealand education gazette
Publication Date: online access from 2014
Early childhood research quarterly
Publishes research on early childhood education and development from birth through 8 years of age. ECRQ publishes predominantly empirical research (quantitative or qualitative methods) on issues of interest to early childhood development, theory, and educational practice.
Mathematics Teacher Education and Development
An international refereed journal that provides a stimulating collection of articles with a focus on mathematics teacher education. The journal is owned and published by the Mathematics Education Research Group of Australasia (MERGA).
Literacy
Literacy is a refereed journal for those interested in the study and development of literacy. Its readership comprises practitioners, teacher educators, researchers and both undergraduate and graduate students. Literacy offers educators a forum for debate through scrutinising research evidence, reflecting on analysed accounts of innovative practice and examining recent policy developments.