Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Biological Anthropology Books
These books are a great starting point for your study!
The books you need are located in the Central Library and Science Library (that have Library of Congress classifications) and the Health Sciences Library (that has National Library of Medicine classifications). The Library of Congress (LC) classification for Anthropology (including physical anthropology, medical anthropology, cultural anthropology etc) is GN so most of the call numbers books you need will start with GN. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) classification for Anthropology is less clear, as anthropological topics touch on all sorts of different medical areas, so the call numbers books you need will start with QZ, WS, WE and GN etc.
Some of the books are also available as e-Books - see their descriptions.
Biological Anthropology websites
These websites are a great resource if you are studying biological anthropology.
Becoming Human brings together interactive multimedia, research and scholarship to promote greater understanding of the course of human evolution
Professional Organisations & Societies
Also check out the "Websites" tab of this subject guide:
Some useful databases for Biological Anthropology
Covers biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
-Date range 1960 onwards
Web Of Science All Databases
Search across all subscribed Web of Science databases: Web of Science Core Collection; BIOSIS Citation Index; Current Contents Connect; Inspec; KCI-Korean Journal Database; MEDLINE; Russian Science Citation Index; SciELO Citation Index; and, Zoological Record.
Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 3,900 journals published world-wide.
Embase This link opens in a new window
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals.
The books and journals platform from Cambridge University Press replacing Cambridge Journals Online (CJO) and Cambridge Books online
Provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates. Coverage of the database spans 1920 to 2018.
Subject Librarian - Biological Anthropology
Citing & Referencing
There are two citation styles used in Biological anthropology; the American Journal of Biological Anthropology (formerly known as the American Journal of Physical Anthropology) citation style and the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style.
American Journal of Biological Anthropology citation style
On the American Journal of Biological Anthropology journal webpage under the Author Guidelines scroll down to section 4: Preparing for submission, and look for "References" - it has referencing information for in text citations and bibliographies. As of 2017 the American journal of Biological Anthropology citation style is the same as APA 6th edition.
APA citation style
This is the referencing style used in BIOA101. The APA page of the University of Otago Library Referencing / Citations styles guide - will provide you with information on citing/referencing.
Annotated Bibliography information
If you are enrolled in BIOA301 one of your assignments involves writing an annotated bibliography.
Annotated Bibliography examples
11 page Word document of Annotated Bibliography examples including academic journal article, report, video, newspaper article, report (online), book chapter, popular magazine article, book, reference book (yearbook) and websites.