Skip to Main Content

The University of Otago Library has re-designed its Subject Guides system. Please let us know what you think by filling out this survey.

Botany: Journals & Databases

Recommended Article Databases for Botany

The quickest way to find articles on a specific topic is by searching a relevant article database. Otago University Library recommends the databases listed below as a good starting point for Botany students and researchers.

 

Looking for a known article?

1. To find an article from a citation:

2.   To find the journal:

  • Search Library Search | Ketu for the Title of the Journal (usually underlined and/or in Italics)
  • The journal may be held in print, electronically, or both
  • Browse to find the correct year/volume and page number

3. You can also use Advanced Search to find a journal (or article):

  • Select 'Title' from the first drop-down menu
  • Leave the second drop-down menu as 'contains' or select 'is (exact)' or 'starts with'
  • Set the Material Type to Journals
  • Click on Search
  • Browse to find the correct year/volume and page numbers

Looking for articles on your topic?

The quickest way to find articles on a specific topic is by searching a relevant database. The University Library subscribes to hundreds of databases, but we recommend the ones listed below as a starting point for students and researchers. Some provide only citations for articles, so look for the Article Link button, or try one of the methods described to access a copy.

Request a FREE Copy with the Interloans service

 

If you need an item that is not available via a database that the University of Otago subscribes to, or in print form in the library, request a free copy using the Interloan service: