LibGuides: Physical Education, Sport & Exercise Sciences: Journals & Databases

Databases

Article databases list and classify articles from scholarly publications, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Different databases cover different ranges of publications, depending on their subject matter and the scope of the database. Databases link through to the Library's e-journals collections for full article access wherever possible.

A selection of databases

These databases can only be searched with keywords (i.e. words used by the author/s).

Web of Science Core Collection
The Web of Science Core Collection includes several databases: 1) Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE) covers more than 9,200 journals across 178 scientific disciplines, with over 53 million records 2) Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) covers more than 3,400 journals in the social sciences, with over 9.3 million records 3) Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) covers more than 1,800 journals in the arts and humanities, with over 4.9 million records. 4) Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) covers more than 7,800 journals in all disciplines, with over 3 million records. 5) Book Citation Index (BCI) covers more than 116,000 editorially selected books, with over 53.2 million records. 6) Conference Proceedings Citation Index (CPCI) covers more than 205,000 conference proceedings, with over 70.1 million records[
Web of Science All Databases
Search across Web of Science Core Collection, Current Contents Connect, KCI-Korean Journal Database, Medline, Preprint Citation Index, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index and Zoological Record for comprehensive, multidisciplinary results. 1864+
Scopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources, with over 90 million records from nearly 27,000 peer-reviewed journal titles (and nearly 300,000 books) from more than 7,000 publishers.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

These databases can use Subject Headings (i.e. database words like MeSH (Medical Subject headings) and Emtree headings) to assist your searching. These databases can also be searched with keywords.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text (via EBSCOhost)
International information on sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, facility design & management, biomechanics, physiotherapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism. More than 670 journals are indexed in SPORTDiscus with full-text coverage dating back to 1930. Also contains books, book chapters and conference proceedings.

Ovid Collection (subscribed resource)

Ovid is a platform that includes a number of databases that cover medicine, pharmacy, psychology, education, food science and technology.

Medline (OvidSP)
Ovid MEDLINE® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Coverage from 1946 onwards.
PubMed
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.
The PubMed database contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full-text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
Embase
Ovid Embase (Excerpta Medica Database) is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing more than 30 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals published world-wide. It has major strengths in pharmacy and psychiatry. Coverage from 1947 onwards.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of three resources (CDSR, Central and Clinical Answers) that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

Academic Search Complete (via EBSCOhost)
Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 10,000 journals, with full-text coverage for more than 6.000 titles. Covers a wide range of areas of academic study from the sciences to the arts.
AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine)
Covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry and palliative care.
ERIC (ProQuest)
A database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Leisure Tourism Database
Contains extensive information from the leisure, recreation, sport, hospitality, tourism and culture sectors. The database includes over 100,000 abstracts from over 6,000 serial publications and thousands of other documents, including core tourism and leisure journals. Also included are over 1500 full-text book chapters from CABI's eBook collection.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Google Scholar
A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
Scopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources.
Web of Science (All Databases)
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources.

A Little Extra: Audio-Visual Material

ACADEMIC VIDEO ONLINE (Alexander Street):

A multidisciplinary collection of videos with thousands of titles and more updated each month. Check the "Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video Collection" that is linked here