Psychology: Research Support
Postgraduate Library Services
Been away from study for a while? Want to refresh your skills?
Check our PG Library Information Session and Workshops in this guide – there are recordings, slides, handouts and links to support you, or you can sign up to one of the Zoom workshops.
Writing Your Thesis
- OUR ArchiveAll Otago theses and dissertations are required to be deposited in the OUR Archive. Depositors have the option to make their dissertation or thesis available in full-text.
Psychology research in OUR Archive
Here you can see the latest research that has been published in OUR Archive from the Psychology Department at Otago.
Citation databases
If you find a great article on your topic, you can use a citation database to track down related articles.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the world's leading citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Emerging Sources Citation Index; Index Chemicus; Book Citation Index; and, Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers the highest impact journals, including Open Access journals and conference proceedings.
Research Publishing & Impact
Publishing your research requires these steps in order to maximise your research impact.
- Get published ... But, before you submit your publication, ensure you...
- Increase your researcher visibility ... By sharing your research... and finally,
- Track the citations for your publications ... To measure your research impact.
Research Lifecycle - refer to sections on Publish & Share, and Research Impact, for support as a new researcher.
The Research Publishing & Impact guide directs you to the key resources for getting published, establishing a researcher profile, and measuring and maximising your research impact.
- Keep up to dateSet up an account then set up alerts to forthcoming research in various databases, including Google Scholar!
Conferences
Conference papers are an excellent source of current research, best practices and new innovations in a research area.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSearch across Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Inspec, and Zoological Record.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.