Food Science: Organisations, Standards & Data

Crown Research Institute that undertakes research and development to add value to fruit, vegetable, crop and food products. Website includes case studies and news. Research portfolios are breeding and genomics, bioprotection, sustainable production, food innovation, and seafood technologies.

The Food and Beverage Information Project regularly publishes reports analysing the state of New Zealand’s food and beverage (F&B) industry. The series includes both summary and in-depth reports on New Zealand’s food producing sectors. From the Ministry of Business, Innovation, and Employment.

New Zealand’s international centre for collaborative food research, to bring together experts "across the food value chain." Partners include AgResearch, the Cawthron Institute, ESR (The Institute of Environmental Science and Research), Plant & Food Research, Landcare Research, the Riddet Institute, Massey University, and Fonterra.

A New Zealand government-funded Centre for Research Excellence (CoRE) that is a partnership between Massey University (host institution), the University of Otago, the University of Auckland, AgResearch and Plant & Food Research. The Institute's goal is to be a premier centre for research and scholarship that underpin the development of innovative foods.

A professional organisation uniting people in the food industry who apply science and technology to the processing and distribution of foods.

A partnership between government, industry organisations, and research institutions (including Otago), the centre aims to protect and enhance New Zealand’s international reputation as a trusted producer of safe food.

A five-year project of the New Zealand Ministry of Business, Innovation, and Employment to combine available information on the food and beverage industry into one place, and make it useful to business.

The website of the publishers of FSTA, which provides information relating to food science (some of which is freely available but you need to register). Including a list of over 3000 assessed international websites relating to food and nutrition, features, and news.

IFT aims to create a global forum where members can share, learn, and transform scientific knowledge into innovative solutions throughout the food system. IFT provides scientific and technical education venues and forums, publications and other resources.

The world’s largest and most comprehensive resource on food constituents, chemistry and biology. It provides information on both macronutrients and micronutrients, including many of the constituents that give foods their flavor, color, taste, texture and aroma.

From Statistics New Zealand. Create your own NZ production, import, and export data reports. Watch the instructional videos for help.

Euromonitor International's Global Market Information Database (GMID) is an online business information system providing business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. It offers integrated access to statistics, reports, insightful comment and business information sources. Coverage is global (more than 200 countries). Users need to register using an "otago.ac.nz email" address.

LanguaL™ is a multilingual thesaural system for describing foods by a set of standard, controlled terms chosen from facets characteristic of their nutritional and/or hygienic quality. Free downloads are available.

From the International Organisation of Vine and Wine (OIV), of which New Zealand is a member state.

A bi-national Government agency that develops and administers the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code. Includes full-text access to their Technical report series relating to the safety of food additives, food contaminants, novel foods and foods produced using gene technology. Also offers consumer information and a nutrition panel calculator.

The leading developer of standards for New Zealand and representative to the International Standards Organisation (ISO) for New Zealand.

Standards Australia is the primary non-governmental standards body in Australia.

Search by keyword to identify specific standards.

ISO is the largest developer of international standards for all industries.