It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Looking for a documentary, image, sound file, chart etc? Then try one of the following:
Databases specialising in videos:
Academic Video OnlineThis link opens in a new windowA cross-search interface that provides access to the Library subscribed video collections from Alexander Street.
eTVThis link opens in a new windowProvides real-time resources through recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos. First-time users must register: select University of Otago, use University staff or student email address only, password will be sent to email. Thereafter login requires registered email address/password.
Provides real-time resources through recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos. Includes TV recordings of programmes from over 30 domestic and international television channels, the entire Archives New Zealand historical film collection along with other educational content in many subject areas, live TV channels in English and other languages. Media hosting is available where videos and related materials may be uploaded to the eTV Library for online access by staff, students, and the wider educational community.
KanopyThis link opens in a new windowA streaming service that provides access to video content sourced from leading suppliers. The Library subscribes to a selection of titles from this collection.
LGBT Studies in VideoA cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. The collection includes documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films.
Databases specialising in images:
ARTstor Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe current version of ARTstor supports the following browsers: IE 7.0+ ; Firefox 3.0+; Safari 3.0+. A nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
The following system configurations are recommended for the optimal use of the ARTstor Digital Library: A high-speed internet connection; Java version 1.3 or later installed on your browser (Mac users accessing ARTstor through Innovative Proxy must have Java version 1.5 or later); Flash Player version 6.0 or later installed; Pop-up blockers are either disabled or configured to allow pop-up windows from www.artstor.org; Cookies are enabled in your browser; Monitor resolution is set at 1280 x 1024 pixels or higher; Screen colours are set to True Colour (32 bit) or better.
Hocken SnapshopThis link opens in a new windowA small sample of the photographs of New Zealand people and places held at Hocken Collections. You can print or download any of these images for personal and research use.
Databases with a variety of content types e.g. videos, photographs, sound files:
DigitalNZThis link opens in a new windowAims to make New Zealand digital content easy to find, share and use. This includes content from government departments, publicly funded organisations, the private sector, and community groups.
Diversity (Alexander Street)This link opens in a new windowResources that illuminate the challenges, triumphs, and issues facing underrepresented, indigenous, and immigrant communities around the world. Content offers opportunities for cross-cultural comparisons and localized, in-depth analyses relevant to Asian studies, black studies, LGBT studies, North American Indian studies, and women's studies.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975This link opens in a new windowPopular Culture explores social, political and cultural change between 1950-1975, through colour images of manuscript and rare printed material, as photographs, ephemera, memorabilia and video footage.
World Digital LibraryContains significant primary materials from cultures around the world, including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, architectural drawings, and other significant cultural materials.