Sociology: Home
Subject Librarian | Kaitiaki Pukapuka - Megan has moved to a new role so I am standing in until we have a new person. Thank you!
Engagement advisors
The University and its Library system can be a daunting environment. The Library's Engagement Advisors are knowledgeable, friendly and available to support Māori and Pacific students access and explore Library services, resources and spaces.
Donna Waitere
Māori Engagement Advisor
Te Pātaka Mātauraka | The Library
Email: donna.waitere@otago.ac.nz
Sela Pole-Fehoko
Pacific Engagement Advisor
Te Pātaka Mātauraka | The Library
Email: sela.pole-fehoko@otago.ac.nz
Related Subject Guides
Sociology, Gender Studies and Criminology web banner incorporating image of Kobra mural.
Nau Mai Haere Mai | Welcome | Afio Mai | Aere Mai | Malo e me'a mai | Fakatalofa atu | Bula | Fakaalofa lahi atu | Ulu tonu mai! This guide is a starting point for studying and researching Sociology at the University of Otago, and connects you to books, article databases & journal, major reference works, and other key sources, as well as information about citing and referencing.
Key Resources
Below are some great places to start searching for academic literature on your topic. Explore the Journals & Databases tab on the left in the navigation bar for even more database options.
- Library Search | Ketu This link opens in a new windowLibrary Search | Ketu provides fast, simple, one-step searching across the University of Otago Library's resources. It is designed to make it quick and easy to begin researching a topic. It is not a replacement for the detailed and precise search tools available from individual subject specific databases.
- IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new windowThe IBSS database includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It focuses on anthropology, economics, politics and sociology with broad coverage of international material from 100 countries and in 60 languages.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- Social Sciences Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearches across ProQuests Social Science databases, including IBSS, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Social Sciences, ProQuest Social Science Journals and more...
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowCross-search two collections: Oxford Quick Reference and Oxford Reference Library.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.