Gender Studies: Books
Searching for books
How do I find Gender Studies books?
Many books for Gender Studies begin with the call number HQ and are shelved on the first floor of the Central Library. Many more books with related and/or specific topics can be found throughout the Library's collections. Find them by searching Library Search | Ketu and/or check out the recommended books below.
-
Library Search | Ketu This link opens in a new window Library Search | Ketu provides fast, simple, one-step searching across the University of Otago Library's resources. It is designed to make it quick and easy to begin researching a topic. It is not a replacement for the detailed and precise search tools available from individual subject specific databases.
How do I improve my book searching techniques?
Want to brush up on your book searching skills? Start with the Self Help guide:
If you need a book that is not available here at Otago, you can borrow it from another library via Interloan:
-
All loans from NZ and Australia are FREE.
-
Overseas loans (not available in NZ or Australia) are $25. This can be charged to a department, research grant or paid for personally. We will check with you first before sourcing an overseas item.
-
Request an Interloan The Interloan service enables library users to search for items, create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.
-
Te Puna Search: New Zealand National Union Catalogue This link opens in a new window Search the National Union Catalogue for items held in libraries throughout New Zealand.
-
Google Books: Advanced Book Search This link opens in a new window Search and preview millions of books from libraries and publishers worldwide using Google Book Search.
-
OCLC WorldCat A catalogue of books and other materials in libraries worldwide that is updated daily.
Recommended books and eBook databases
The titles below are recommended, but not exclusive. Also try Sage Research Methods Online.
-
A Companion to Gender Studies
Available as an E-book -
Feminist Studies: A Guide to Intersectional Theory, Methodology and Writing
Available as an E-book -
Gender and Qualitative Methods
Available as a E-book -
Handbook of Feminist Research
Available as an E-book -
Theories and Methodologies in Post-Graduate Feminist Research
Available as an E-book
Reference books are great places to start when learning about a new topic or creating a search strategy. The titles below are recommended, but not exclusive.
These databases contain ebooks with Gender Studies content. Many of these eBooks can also be found searching Library Search | Ketu.
-
ProQuest EBook Central This link opens in a new windowOffers content across all subject areas from major academic publishers worldwide. Access to non-owned content can be requested online. ebooks can be read online or downloaded for offline access for up to 7 days using Adobe Digital Editions.
-
OECD Publications This link opens in a new windowOECD’s online library for books, papers, periodicals and statistics (IEA statistical databases not included). This is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.
-
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowA research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. The database links SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
-
SpringerLink ebooks - Social Sciences This link opens in a new windowSpringer’s eBook collection in Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, with over 250 books published annually.
-
SAGE Knowledge eBooks This link opens in a new windowIncludes SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
An RSS feed of new books just added to the University of Otago Library collections.