Gender Studies: Home
Subject Librarian | Kaitiaki Pukapuka
Nau Mai Haere Mai | Welcome | Afio Mai | Aere Mai | Malo e me'a mai | Fakatalofa atu | Veikidavaki | Fakaalofa lahi atu | Ulu tonu mai! This guide is a starting point for studying and researching Gender Studies at the University of Otago, and connects you to books, article databases & journal, major reference works, and other key sources, as well as information about citing and referencing.
Key resources
Below are some great places to start searching for academic literature on your topic. Explore the Journals & Databases tab above in the navigation bar for even more database options.
- Library Search | Ketu - Advanced Search
Library Search | Ketu provides fast, simple, one-step searching across the University of Otago Library's resources. It is designed to make it quick and easy to begin researching a topic. It is not a replacement for the detailed and precise search tools available from individual subject specific databases. - IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
An online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research with a focus on anthropology, economics, politics and sociology. This database includes bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. - Google Scholar
Search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Article linker will provide links to library databases and full-text of many articles. - ProQuest Social Sciences
Searches across ProQuests Social Science databases, including IBSS, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Social Sciences, ProQuest Social Science Journals and more.... - Oxford Reference [Subscription eBook platform]
Good for: STARTING OUT; SHORT DEFINITIONS
Looking for definitions or short explanations of terms? Start here before (or after) Wikipedia! This incredibly useful platform provides access to Oxford University Press titles, like subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, companions and handbooks across many disciplines.
Library Postgraduate Sessions via Zoom - 2024, Semester 2
These Library Information Sessions are provided specifically for postgraduate students. All Semester 1 sessions will be held on a Tuesday at 10:30 via Zoom - check below for Semester 2 dates. For more information and to register book now via this link
| 13 August | 10:30 - 11:30 | Thesis Information | For new thesis students: covers preparation, copyright compliance, submitting, and depositing. |
| 20 August | 10:30 - 11:30 | Introduction to Effective Search Strategies |
Learn how to search recommended databases for relevant literature, and manage your results. |
| 27 August | 10:30 - 12 | Introduction to Research Data Management |
Make sense of the complexity around data storage, description, re-use and archiving. |
| 10 September | 10:30 - 12 | Introduction to Getting Published |
Practical tips for postgraduates. Learn how to develop a publishing strategy and identify the right journals for submission. |
| 24 September | 10:30 - 11:30 | Introduction to Researcher Profiles |
Building online profiles to promote your research, and yourself. |
| 1 October | 10:30 - 12 | Introduction to Research Impact & Metrics |
Understand tools that explain impact factors and ranking for what to read, and where to publish. |
Featured Resource
- SAGE Research Methods [eBook platform]
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. The database links SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Includes access to Cases and Datasets.
Related Subject Guides
https://otago.libguides.com/Nga_Upoko_Tukutuku
Need Help?
|
There are many ways to get help at the Library This guide lists key databases and journals you can use for finding articles and books for your assignments. Use keyword and topic searches to find relevant information on your topic. If you need any help with finding the right information or referencing something correctly, you can contact your Subject Librarian, or use the Self Help guide for tips. |
For other questions: * EXPLORE the Ask Library FAQs, or * MESSAGE Library staff via LibChat for instant answers during business hours. You can also: |
|
|
|
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.