Gender Studies: Journals & Databases
These databases are highly recommended for finding Gender Studies related articles. Some are highly specialized while others contain diverse literature. If your research has a New Zealand focus, also check out the NZ Databases tab.
- Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window A definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. Subject coverage includes: Anthropology, Communication science, Demography, Economics, Human services, Political science, Policy studies, Psychology, and Sociology.
- IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window The IBSS database includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It focuses on anthropology, economics, politics and sociology with broad coverage of international material from 100 countries and in 60 languages.
- Diversity (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window Resources that illuminate the challenges, triumphs, and issues facing underrepresented, indigenous, and immigrant communities around the world. Content offers opportunities for cross-cultural comparisons and localized, in-depth analyses relevant to Asian studies, black studies, LGBT studies, North American Indian studies, and women's studies.
- HeinOnline Women and the Law (Peggy) This link opens in a new window A collection of books, biographies and periodicals dedicated to womens roles in society and the law from the last 200 years.
- Periodicals Index Online: PIO This link opens in a new window PIO is an international index to millions of articles published in over 6,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1665. Every article in each journal is indexed, from volume 1 issue 1 to recent times. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages.
- Women and Social Movements International - 1840 to Present This link opens in a new window A collection of primary materials from more than 300 repositories. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
- Women: Transnational Networks (NCCO) This link opens in a new window From Nineteenth Century Collections Online, this focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- Academic OneFile (Gale Cengage) This link opens in a new window Provides indexing/abstracting for over 12,500 journals and reference sources; over 5,000 in full-text and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- Academic Search Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 10,000 journals, with full-text coverage for more than 6.000 titles. Covers a wide range of areas of academic study from the sciences to the arts.
- Informit Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Covers agriculture, arts, Asian studies, business, cultural studies, education, history, indigenous studies, law, media, political science, reference, social sciences, science and technology. Content sources include peer reviewed journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials sourced and indexed by RMIT Publishing.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. The Library's access includes all Arts & Sciences Collections, the Life Sciences Collection, Business IV, and the Ireland Collection.
- MLA International Bibliography (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window A classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Source documents include journal articles, books, and dissertations. Access to the MLA's Directory of Periodicals is also provided.
- Periodicals Archive Online Foundation Collection This link opens in a new window The PAO Foundation Collection is an archive of 215 digitised academic journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Coverage is from first issue to the end of 2000, or final issue (whichever is first).
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full-text access to over 400 high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals from over 100 scholarly publishers.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window A leading electronic database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. It combines information from a number of leading online databases with subjects covering: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- IndexNZAbstracts and descriptions for articles from a huge range of New Zealand periodicals and newspapers since the 1950s to 2024
Also see:
- DigitalNZ This link opens in a new window Aims to make New Zealand digital content easy to find, share and use. This includes content from government departments, publicly funded organisations, the private sector, and community groups.
- findNZarticles This link opens in a new window Provides access to New Zealand content, including material by or about New Zealanders, from a range of New Zealand newspapers and journals.
- Informit New Zealand Collection This link opens in a new window Access to full text New Zealand content relating to arts, business, education, environment and conservation, family studies, sociology, Indigenous and Maori peoples, law and music.
- Knowledge Basket This link opens in a new window New Zealand Index (including Newzindex, NZ Science, Newspaper Index, Index New Zealand), Newztext and LegislationNZ (including Hansard).
- National Library of New Zealand Discovery Search This link opens in a new window Simultaneously searches the National Library Catalogue, TAPUHI, Timeframes, Publications NZ, Index NZ, Te Puna Web Directory, Matapihi and findNZarticles.
- NZResearch This link opens in a new window Research documents produced at universities, polytechnics, and other research institutions throughout New Zealand; now hosted by DigitalNZ
- Te Puna Search: New Zealand National Union Catalogue This link opens in a new window Search the National Union Catalogue for items held in libraries throughout New Zealand.
- The Hub The Hub is a one-stop-shop for New Zealand social science government research related to education, health and wellbeing, crime and justice, families, children and young people.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window Access to a wide range of global and NZ news and business information content from more than 28,000 sources, from 157 countries in 23 languages.
- Newspaper Source Plus (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.
- PressReader This link opens in a new window Access to over 1,000 newspapers from over 80 countries in 40 different languages. The newspapers are presented exactly as they are in print format and are available to read at the same time (often earlier) than the print versions. NOTE: Only goes back 90 days.
- News & Newspapers Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Search and access these collections: ProQuest Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, Australia & New Zealand Newsstand, and historical content for the Guardian, the Observer, the Irish Times, the Weekly Irish Times, the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, the Scotsman, and the Wall Street Journal.
- Newspapers - Library Guide Visit the Newspapers guide for more NZ and International newspaper sources, both current and historical.
Journals
- Journal of New Zealand Studies The Journal of New Zealand Studies is published annually in October by the Stout Research Centre for New Zealand Studies, Victoria University of Wellington. It is a peer-reviewed multidisciplinary journal which welcomes papers from any discipline which has a New Zealand focus
- Mai Journal MAI Journal publishes multidisciplinary peer-reviewed articles around indigenous knowledge and development in the context of Aotearoa New Zealand.
- New Zealand Sociology Disseminates & promotes research & thought that has the clarification & development of theoretically informed research in sociology & related disciplines with a predominant, though not exclusive, concern with New Zealand.
- Sites: a journal of social anthropology and cultural studies Sites seeks multidisciplinary perspectives on the study of societies and cultures of the wider Pacific region. We welcome work from authors in the fields of anthropology, culture studies, indigenous studies, Maori studies, sociology, history, gender, linguistics, and ethnomusicology.
- Women's studies journal The Women's Studies Journal is a biannual, open access, peer reviewed academic journal established by the Women's Studies Association.
- Google Scholar Metrics: Feminism & Women's Studies Google Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications.
- Google Scholar Metrics: Gender Studies Google Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications.
- Google Scholar Metrics: Sex & Sexuality Google Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications.
- Google Scholar Metrics: Sociology Google Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications.
- Scimago Journal & Country Rank: Gender Studies The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.).
- Scimago Journal & Country Rank: Sociology & Political Science The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.).
Google Like a Pro:
Did you know that there are over 40 search operators that you can use to search Google more effectively, many of which can be used in Scholar too? Here are five examples that are useful for everyday searching. See the handout for more.
- Phrase search using speech marks, e.g. “Australian cattle dog”
- Minus sign to exclude a word, e.g. kiwi bird -fruit
- Filetype to find specific type, e.g. filetype:pdf
- Intitle word/s must appear in the title of the item, e.g. intitle:chocolate
- Domain search: search within a specific internet domain, e.g. well-being site:govt.nz searches in NZ government sites. Other domains: edu, org.nz; ac.nz and many more.
Featured Resource
- SAGE Research Methods [eBook platform]
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. The database links SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Includes access to Cases and Datasets.