Some key Heath Sciences databases are listed below.
Have you got a smart phone or tablet? Did you know that many of our key databases are also available via mobile? When you look up the database in the Health Sciences database list and it has this icon: : then it's available for iPhone /iPod or iPad or Android.
2022 CiteScore data - available from 21 June 2023
Note: The SNIP indicator may change for current and previous years when extra journal content is added to Scopus.
Journal Impact Factor (JIF or IF) is a term from Clarivate Analytics, formerly Thomson Reuters and ISI.
= average number of times articles from a journal, published in the last 2 years, have been cited in the JCR year
5 year JIF calculation is also available.
2022 Journal Impact Factor (JIF) data - available from 28 June 2023
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) from Incites is available to compare journal metrics across a range of years, e.g. Journal Impact Factor (JIF), Journal Citation Indicator (JCI), Journal ranking by Subject category...
This well known journal metric uses citation data from the Web of Science Core Collection. Use it for the latest JIF data.
Journal Citation Indicator (JCI) is the average Category Normalized Citation Impact (CNCI) of citable items (articles & reviews) published by a journal over a recent three year period. Only available through Journal Citation Reports (JCR).
Researchers are often encouraged to publish in, and read, journals with high impact factors, to enhance their research profile and awareness.
Publish or Perish - merge this data with that from Web of Science and SJR, then remove duplicate results.
SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) demonstrates journal rankings or prestige, based on Scopus data. SJR normalises for differences in citation behaviour between different subjects. Subject field, quality, and reputation of the journal have a direct effect on the value of a citation.
= average number of citations per document by total journal citations within a 3-year period, in a subject category, while assigning higher value to citations from more prestigious journals.
Note: The SJR may change for current and previous years when extra journal content is added to Scopus.
Field Weighted Citation Impact (FWCI) shows how well cited an article is, when compared to similar articles in the same discipline, publication year or output type. FWCI takes into account the differences in research behaviour across disciplines. It is particularly valuable for cross-disciplinary research. Citations received up to 3 complete calendar years after publication are considered.
If the FWCI = 1, the output performs just as expected for the global average; if the FWCI = 1.48, it means 48% more cited than expected.
Research Metrics Guidebook - see p46-48.
Category Normalised Citation Impact (CNCI) uses the actual count of citing items, divided by the expected citation rate for documents with the same document type, year of publication and subject area. When a document is assigned to more than one subject area an average of the ratios of the actual to expected citations is used.
If the CNCI = 1, this represents performance at par with world average. A CNCI value of 2 is considered twice world average.
Find the CNCI and JNCI (Journal Normalised Citation Impact) using Incites, from Clarivate Analytics, formerly Thomson Reuters and ISI. This metric is useful for benchmarking at author, institutional or regional level.
Incites Indicators Handbook - see p13-15
Complementary Indicators - consider using:
Eigenfactor Score (EF) - a measure of a journal's importance to the scientific community, based on past 5 years' data from Clarivate; available for 1997-2015. A journal's Scores are scaled so that the sum of all journal scores is 100.
Normalised Eigenfactor Score (EFn) - scaled so that the journal’s mean score = 1.00. A journal with a Normalized Eigenfactor Score of 3 has three times the total influence of the average journal in the JCR. In 2014, PLoS One had the highest EFn Score of 217.451.
Article Influence Score: The mean Article Influence Score is 1.00. An Article Influence Score greater than 1.00 indicates that the articles in a journal have an above-average influence.
See Citation Metrics: Alternative Metrics as it applies to journals.
Obvious factors can heavily influence journal impact factors, such as journal title changes, or publishers gaming the system by requiring authors to cite articles from other journals by the same publisher. However there are more systematic problems:
These tutorials are designed to provide a basic introduction to searching the databases.
Find out how to get the most out of PubMed by using the tutorials below:
Remember to always access Google Scholar through the Library webpage - that way you are recognised as a student from the University of Otago and you are given access to all our subscriptions.
Follow the [PDF] link or Otago Article Link on the right-hand side to get the full text of the article.