Media, Film & Communication: Newspapers
Magazines and Newspaper Databases
Newspapers are great primary sources of information about societal sentiments and events. Newspaper articles, photographs, cartoons, and advertisements can show:
- How people reacted to certain events in history
- What governments and local councils did and how society felt about their actions
- Societal attitudes towards other countries or people
- Reports of crime
- Economic conditions, including job and product advertisements
- Cultural and religious events, conflicts, and sentiments
Below are a selection of newspaper databases, an exhaustive list of newspaper databases can be found on the Library Newspaper Database list.
If you are looking for historic newspaper archives, the Newspaper Library Guide may be helpful.
Global Newspaper Databases
PressReaderA newspaper database providing access to the current issue (and up to a 90 day backfile) for over 3,000 titles worldwide. The newspapers replicate the print format.
Dow Jones FactivaA global business information and research tool. Content is from a wide range of resources such as newspapers, journals, magazines and newswires.
Economist: Historical Archive 1843-2011A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2011. The Economist delivers reports of international political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments, all over the world.
Google News ArchiveBrowse titles of historic newspapers digitised by Google. Use Google Search with the title to find results older than 30 days.
Hathi Trust Digital LibraryA digital preservation repository and access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Internet Archive NewspapersThe newspapers in this collection have been scanned as part of a pilot project using microfilm and microfiche. After using a microfilm/fiche scanner to create a digital image of each page, the resulting images are processed so that each reel is contained in a single item with easily navigable files.Newspaper Source Plus
Includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. Also features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.
Newspaper databases by Region
- Provides access to leading Australian newspapers, including: The Australian, The Weekend Australian, The Courier-Mail, The Daily Telegraph, The Advertiser, The Herald-Sun, The Mercury, The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald, The Sun-Herald, The Illawarra Mercury, The Newcastle Herald, The Central Coast Herald and more.
Index New ZealandAbstracts and descriptions for articles from a huge range of New Zealand periodicals and newspapers since the 1950s.
Niupepa: Maori newspapersThe niupepa collection consists of over 17,000 pages taken from 34 separate periodicals. It is based on "Niupepa 1842-1933", a microfiche collection produced by the Alexander Turnbull Library. 70% of the collection is written solely in Māori, 27% is bilingual and about 3% is written in English.
Australian Periodical Publications 1840-1845The site has been developed as part of the Australian Cooperative Digitisation Project and one of the Project's key aims was to ensure access to and preservation of the selected titles through a process of preservation microfilming and digitisation.
Australia/New Zealand Reference CentreArticles about current events, business, politics and more from New Zealand and Australian newspapers, magazines, reference books and more.
The Koori MailDigital collection of 20 years of the Koori Mail – Australia’s fortnightly national Indigenous newspaper.
New Zealand Gazette Te Kāhiti o AotearoaThe New Zealand Gazette is the official newspaper of the New Zealand government. It is an authoritative journal of constitutional record and contains official commercial and government notifications that are required by legislation to be published.
NewztextArchive of full-text articles from many key NZ news and business publications. Newztext is both a research tool and a long-term archive and is updated daily. Produced by The Knowledge Basket, with contributions from publishers.- Pacific Islands News & InformationA full-text database of news and information resources of the Pacific Islands. Comprises articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, bulletins and reports.
Papers PastMore than three million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers and periodicals. The collection covers the years 1839 to 1945 and includes 92 publications from all regions of New Zealand.
TroveFind over 398,954,968 Australian and online resources: books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more.
Press Reader90-day backfile of over 1,000 newspapers from over 80 countries in 40 different languages. The newspapers are presented exactly as they are in print format and are available to read at the same time (often earlier) than the print.
British Library NewspapersBritish Library Newspapers consists of two major collections from the British Library which span three hundred years of newspaper publishing in the U.K.—17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century Newspapers.
The Gazette (includes London, Edinburgh and Belfast Gazettes)A history of Britain since 1665. Search and access information from across each of the editions via one website.
The Guardian and the ObserverThe complete digital archive of The Observer, 1791 - 2003 and, The Guardian, 1821 - 2003.
Irish NewspapersLists and links to current Irish newspaper websites.National Library of Ireland: Newspaper Database
This database is a listing of newspaper titles held in the National Library of Ireland, including information on the latest date available of current titles.
Deutsche Welle (DW)Deutsche Welle (DW) is an unbiased media organization, based in Germany. They provide our journalistic content to people worldwide, giving them the freedom to make up their own minds and the information required to form their own opinions.Europeana Newspapers
Includes newspapers and newspaper clippings digitised by Europe's galleries, museums, libraries, archives and audiovisual collections.- European NewspapersBrowse a selection of the main Newspapers around Europe. All information and breaking news sorted by countries and regions in a couple of clicks !
Press Reader
A newspaper database providing access to the current issue (and up to a 90 day backfile) for over 3,000 titles worldwide. The newspapers replicate the print format.- ProQuest News & NewspapersSearch and access these collections: ProQuest Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, Australia & New Zealand Newsstand, and historical content for the Guardian, the Observer, the Irish Times, the Weekly Irish Times, the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, the Scotsman, and the Wall Street Journal. Database Guide.
Chronicling America
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Newspapers from Latin AmericaThis collection contains more than 500 newspaper titles for the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean. CRL, along with the Latin American Materials Project (LAMP) maintains extensive backfiles as well as current subscriptions to newspapers, and has digitized portions of its collection in response scholars’ requests as well strategic digitization of historical newspapers in the World Newspaper Archive database available through Readex.
ABYZ Near and Middle East News Media GuideA directory of links to online news sources from around the world. It contains links to newspapers and other sites with news content such as broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies.
Al Jazeera | Middle EastAl Jazeera is an independent news organisation funded in part by the Qatari government. The network challenges established narratives and gives a global audience an alternative voice, one that put the people back at the centre of the news agenda.
BBC News | Middle EastBBC News stories on events in Asia. The BBC is the world’s leading public service broadcaster.Historical Jewish Press
A collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. The database includes digital versions of each paper, making it possible to view the papers in their original layout.- Al Jazeera | AsiaAl Jazeera is an independent news organisation funded in part by the Qatari government.
- BBC News | AsiaBBC News stories on events in Asia. The BBC is the world’s leading public service broadcaster.
China Daily
An authoritative provider of information, analysis, comment and entertainment for global readers with a special focus on China.The Japan News
The Japan News is a daily English-language newspaper published by The Yomiuri Shimbun. The paper's fundamental editorial goal is to quickly inform readers about news in Japan and the world.
- ABYZ Africa News Media GuideA directory of links to online news sources from around the world. It contains links to newspapers and other sites with news content such as broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies.
- Al Jazeera | AfricaAl Jazeera is an independent news organisation funded in part by the Qatari government. The network challenges established narratives and gives a global audience an alternative voice, one that put the people back at the centre of the news agenda.
- BBC News | AfricaBBC News stories on events in Africa. The BBC is the world’s leading public service broadcaster.
Magazines Databases
Magazine Databases
- The Magazine RackThe Magazine Rack is a collection of digitized magazines and monthly publications.
- Periodicals Archive OnlinePeriodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically.
Te Ao Hou | The New WorldThis website lets you search and browse all 76 issues of the magazine Te Ao Hou The New World. Te Ao Hou was published from 1952 to 1976 by the Māori Affairs Department in New Zealand Aotearoa.- Vogue ArchiveContains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution colour page images.