Media, Film & Communication: Welcome
Engagement advisors
The University and its Library system can be a daunting environment. The Library's Engagement Advisors are knowledgeable, friendly and available to support Māori and Pacific students access and explore Library services, resources and spaces.
Donna Waitere
Māori Engagement Advisor
University Library | Te Whare Pukapuka Matua
Email: donna.waitere@otago.ac.nz
Sela Pole-Fehoko
Pacific Engagement Advisor
University Library | Te Whare Pukapuka Matua
Email: sela.pole-fehoko@otago.ac.nz
Featured resources
- Oxford Reference [Subscription eBook platform]
Good for: STARTING OUT; SHORT DEFINITIONS
Looking for definitions or short explanations of terms? Start here before (or after) Wikipedia! This incredibly useful platform provides access to Oxford University Press titles, like subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, companions and handbooks across many disciplines.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete [full-text database & index]
Good for:COMMUNICATION & MEDIA STUDIES
CMMC is a great communication studies database that gives full-text access to many top communication journals covering related disciplines like media studies, linguistics, rhetoric, and discourse. - Communication and Mass Media Collection [full-text database]
Good for: COMMUNICATION & MEDIA STUDIES
Communications and Mass Media gives access to 2.5 million+ articles from 400+ journals on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature. - Film Index International [database index]
Good for: FILM
Key information resource for entertainment films, actors and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute, indexing 125k+ films from over 170 countries. Includes all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters. - FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database [full-text database & index]
Good for: FILM & MEDIA STUDIES
An essential tool for film studies! Created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), this indexes with some full-text access to 340+ academic and popular film journals from 1972 onward. It also gives access to research on television, and directory of international silent film archives & film-related collections .
Need Help?
|
There are many ways to get help at the Library This guide lists key databases and journals you can use for finding articles and books for your assignments. Use keyword and topic searches to find relevant information on your topic. If you need any help with finding the right information or referencing something correctly, you can contact your Subject Librarian, or use the Self Help guide for tips. |
For other questions: * EXPLORE the Ask Library FAQs, or * MESSAGE Library staff via LibChat for instant answers during business hours. You can also: |
|
|
|
