Irish Studies: Videos
Online Streaming Video Collections
These are just some of the many online video streaming collections available online and through the library.
To find additional video online, try searching one of the many video search engines listed on the Complete Search Engine List.
University Staff and Students will need to register for eTV the first time they use it. See this video for details:
eTVAccess recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos. Includes: News, Documentaries, Feature Films and more from over 30 channels.
Freedocumentaries.orgStreams full-length documentary films free of charge.
Internet Archive: Moving Image ArchiveAn online library of free movies, films, and videos.
Irish Silent FilmsNine dramatized films about the Irish made in Ireland and America by Sidney Olcott and others during 1910–15.
TED: TalksThe award-winning TEDTalks video site. TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading.
Theatre in VideoOver 250 performances of leading plays, and over 100 documentaries representing leading playwrights, actors and directors are available through VAST. Use the Browse Topics tool or check the 'Theatre' box on the home screen.
VAST: Academic Video OnlineA package of video collections in 21 disciplines accessible through the Academic Video Online cross-search. VAST is growing steadily and will include access to 20,000 videos.Watchdocumentary.com
Watch documentary films, movies, series and episodes online for free.
YouTubeContains many channels and playlists relating to Irish Studies, including:
- Homeland Series
- Irish Literature
- Irish History
- The History of Ireland
World Languages and Literature in Video
VAST includes documentary films and adaptations covering leading figures in world literature, interviews, biographies, profiles of literary figures, and more. Use the Browse Topics tool or check the 'World Language & Literature' box on the home screen.
Websites about Irish Film & Television
- Irish Film & Television Bibliography This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of both cinema and television in Ireland and includes writings on Irish-theme films made outside the country. Included are books; articles in journals; chapters in collections; and selections from specialist magazines.
- Irish Film & Television Biographies This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of both cinema and television in Ireland and includes entries for those who have worked on Irish-theme films made outside the country. It features actors, writers, directors, cinematographers, and other film and television industry personnel.
- Irish Film & Television Index This link opens in a new windowDocuments over 40,000 Irish-made cinema and major television productions as well as Irish-themed audio-visual representations produced outside of Ireland.
- Irish Film & Television Research online This link opens in a new windowA website designed to bring together the wide diversity of research material relating to Irish-made cinema and television as well as to Irish-themed audio-visual representations produced outside of Ireland.
- Irish Film ArchiveThe Irish Film Archive’s collection is broad, aiming to reflect all aspects of indigenous film production, whether professional or amateur. It incorporates fiction, features, public information films, amateur material, documentary, newsreel, experimental film and animation.
- Irish Film InstituteThe Irish Film Institute preserves, presents and promotes film culture in Ireland.
- The Irish in FilmA complete list of films with Irish themes or Irish characters with descriptions of how the Irish are portrayed and links to reviews.
Irish Literature: Documentaries
These are just some of the Documentaries about Irish Literature available in the library.
To find more, search the Library Catalogue.
James Joyce's DublinDiscusses the background of James Joyce, his city of Dublin where he lived and wrote, and the forces which shaped his art.
NoraThe true story behind the world famous writer James Joyce and his one inspiration.
Silence to silenceA documentary marking the 80th birthday of playwright and poet Samuel Beckett. Profiles the man and his work, and is interspersed with fragments of his poetry and scenes from his plays.
Oscar Wilde spendthrift of geniusThe story of Oscar Wildes ascent to social and literary success, and the subsequent collapse of his fortunes, is one of the most tragic in the history of literature.
Irish Feature Films
These are just some of the Irish films available on DVD format in the Library. To find more, search Library Search | Ketu for the subject heading: Ireland feature films.