Pacific Studies: Newspapers

The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) at the University of California, Riverside.

The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.

This database offers access to the full-text of Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers including The Globe and Mail.

Publimetro is a newspaper distributed in Latin America, Chile, Colombia, Brazil, Mexico, Peru, and Puerto Rico. Use Google Translate from Spanish to English.

A directory of links to online news sources from around the world. It contains links to newspapers and other sites with news content such as broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies.

Al Jazeera is an independent news organisation. The network challenges established narratives and gives a global audience an alternative voice.

BBC News stories on events in Africa. The BBC is the world’s leading public service broadcaster.

A newspaper database providing access to the current issue (and up to a 90 day backfile) for over 3,000 titles worldwide. The newspapers replicate the print format. Includes the ODT.

Digital collection of 20 years of the Koori Mail – Australia’s fortnightly national Indigenous newspaper.

The niupepa collection consists of over 17,000 pages taken from 34 separate periodicals. It is based on "Niupepa 1842-1933", produced by the Alexander Turnbull Library. 70% of the collection is written solely in Māori.

A full-text database of news and information resources of the Pacific Islands. Comprises articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, bulletins and reports.

More than three million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers and periodicals. The collection covers the years 1839 to 1945 and includes 92 publications from all regions of New Zealand.

Al Jazeera is an independent news organisation funded in part by the Qatari government.

BBC News stories on events in Asia. The BBC is the world’s leading public service broadcaster.

An authoritative provider of information, analysis, comment and entertainment for global readers with a special focus on China.

Latest news and features from Japan: business, politics, commentary culture, life & style, entertainment and sports.

Deutsche Welle (DW) is an unbiased media organization, based in Germany. Providing our journalistic content to people worldwide, giving them the freedom to make up their own minds and the information required to form their own opinions.

El Mundo, formally El Mundo del Siglo Veintiuno is the second largest printed daily newspaper in Spain. The paper is considered one of the country's newspapers of record along with El País. Use Google Translate to translate Spanish to English.

Includes newspapers and newspaper clippings digitised by Europe's galleries, museums, libraries, archives and audiovisual collections.

Founded in 1944, Le Monde represents the "establishment" position. It is the most widely-read French daily newspaper, outside of France. Use Google Translate to translate French to English.

A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2011. The Economist delivers reports of international political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments, all over the world.

Browse titles of historic newspapers digitised by Google. Use Google Search with the title to find results older than 30 days.

A digital preservation repository and access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

Includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. Also features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.

The Magazine Rack is a collection of digitized magazines and monthly publications.

Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically.

This website lets you search and browse all 76 issues of the magazine Te Ao Hou The New World. Te Ao Hou was published from 1952 to 1976 by the Māori Affairs Department in New Zealand Aotearoa.