LibGuides: Pacific Studies: Databases

Pacific Studies Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
This database supports research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and more.
JSTOR
Provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences.
ProQuest Central
A database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. Subjects covered include theatre, music, business, law, education, science, technology, engineering, arts, and religion.
MLA International Bibliography
This citation database covers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Ancestry Library Edition (ProQuest)
ProQuest has partnered with Ancestry.com to create Ancestry® Library Edition, one of the most important genealogical collections available today.
JSTOR Global Plants
A database of digitized plant specimens contributed from the collections of over 300 herbaria worldwide. It also includes a number of reference works and primary sources, such as collector's diaries and correspondence, and photographs.

Australian / New Zealand Reference Plus Centre
Collection of full-text leading Australia/New Zealand magazines, newspapers, eResources, biographies, and reference books. Full-text newspapers and newswires; and an image collection of over a million photos, maps, and flags.
DigitalNZ
DigitalNZ is the search site for all things New Zealand. We connect you to reliable digital collections from our content partners, including libraries, museums, galleries, government departments, the media, and community groups.
Factiva
A global business information and research tool that aggregates content from a wide range of resources such as newspapers, journals, magazines and newswires.
Informit - Indigenous Collection (AIATIS)
This interdisciplinary collection of Journals and books gives a definitive voice to Indigenous communities in Australia, New Zealand and beyond. Informit pays deep respect to their Ancestors and Elders, past and present.
Te Puna
Te Puna Services is a collection of online tools and services created with the help of NZ librarians to support the daily tasks of searching, cataloguing, sharing resources, and managing collections.
Hākena Search - Hocken Library
Hākena allows you to search for material in the Archives and Manuscripts, Ephemera, Photographs, and Pictures collections of the Hocken Collections.

Alexander Street - Ethnographic Video Online
Alexander Street is the most comprehensive resource for visual anthropology in the world, providing access to over 2,000 hours of film and always growing, from raw field footage to crafted ethnographies and documentaries.
Digital Theatre Plus
Provides access to high quality films of leading British theatre productions as well as behind-the-scenes documentaries and interviews.
eTV
Provides real-time resources through recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos. First-time users must register.
Kanopy
A streaming service that provides access to video content sourced from leading suppliers.

Database Search Tips PDF
Two page PDF detailing keyword and boolean search tips, Google Scholar boolean search tips, and reverse citation searching.
Electronic Access Help
If you have any queries about our electronic resources (databases, e-journals or e-books), please contact the library using the form on this web page.
Interloan Service
The Interloan service enables library users to search for items, create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.
Scan Request
This video shows how to request a PDF scan of a book section or print journal from any Otago library.