Information Science: Journals & Databases
To find articles...
Search a range of article databases to find research articles on an information science-related topic.
For example:
- Inspec (Web of Science)An abstracting/indexing database for journal and proceedings literature in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, mechanical engineering, production and manufacturing engineering, and information technology
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCovers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines.
- IET Electronic Library, IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowThe IEEE Xplore digital library is a resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Browse this resource to access IEEE's journals & magazines, standards, and conference proceedings.
- Business Source Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals, from 1886.
- ACM Digital LibraryBibliographic information and full text for articles published in Association for Computing Machinery journals, magazines and conference proceedings.
- Computer Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive coverage of computer topics from scholarly journals, trade publications and consumer titles. The database includes around 450 titles, with over 350 available in full-text.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources, from 1960.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering.
- Emerald This link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 200 full-text, peer-reviewed, commerce journals, from 1899.
- Informit Business Collection This link opens in a new windowCovers all broad business fields, including: accounting, career development, commercial law, commodities, corporate governance, e-business, economics, employment, human resources, labour, management, marketing, occupational health, taxation, and unions, from 1993.
Article Link
If an article is not available in full-text in a database, click Article Link to automatically search other databases the Library subscribes to.
You may see Article Link represented as:
or Otago Article Link
If the article you need is not online...
Try these options:
- Library Search | Ketu This link opens in a new windowSearch the journal title to see if Otago holds the hardcopy of the issue you need.
- InterloansIf Otago does not hold the issue in hardcopy, submit an Interloans request for the article. Staff will try to get the article for you from another Library. Article requests are free.
Evaluation Tools
Evaluation tools can help guide you in thinking critically about your information sources. Are the sources you have gathered relevant, appropriate, and authoritative? The evaluation tools can also help you articulate what are sometimes instinctive decisions.
Rauru Whakarare is a kaupapa Māori framework based on five strands woven together with whakapapa at the centre. This framework was developed by Massey University staff and is useful for evaluating all types of information including academic and non-academic sources, online and print material. The five strands are:
- Whakapapa (The Background)
- Māramatanga (The Content)
- Aronga (The Lens)
- Orokohanga (The Origins)
- Mana (The Authority)
Use the acronym BADURL to assess online sources:
B ... Bias
A ... Authority
D ... Date
U ... URL
R ... Relevance
L ... Links
The CRAPP Test is designed for assessing online information for academic purposes. The tutorial is quick and informative.
Currency
Reliability
Authority
Purpose/Point of view
Another quick tutorial to develop your evaluation skills. The SIFT approach is particularly useful for assessing media sources online.
Stop
Investigate the Source
Find Better Coverage
Trace Claims, Quotes and Media to the Original Context