Finding Academic Literature - Business Administration - MBA, DBA

On this page there are 'how to' videos on searching for academic literature including books, journals and peer-reviewed journal articles.

- Also note the list of the top 6 academic databases for your business study below. Databases are an important tool for research. Most databases allow you to search for journal articles on your topic using a variety of different options including keyword, subject headings, title and author searches.

Management Databases
Link out to an extensive list of databases for management & business

Business Source Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals. Coverage includes full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business database covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Includes access to: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry.
Google Scholar (off-campus access only) This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search across Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Inspec, and Zoological Record.
Emerald Business, Management and Economics eBook Series Collection This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of volumes with subject coverage that includes: Accounting, Finance and Economics; Business, Management and Strategy; Healthcare Management; HR, Learning and Organisation Studies; Library and Information Management; Public Policy and Environmental Management; and, Tourism and Hospitality Management.

Learn how to develop a search strategy, search recommended databases for relevant literature, and manage your results.

Library Postgraduate Workshop -Effective Search Strategies from University of Otago Library on Vimeo.

Finding books:

Finding Books:

Finding books using Library Search Ketu

Access to Print Books

Browse the shelves:

On-campus students can browse the shelves for books. Commerce-related books and other resources are held in a number of libraries on the Dunedin campus including:

Call number areas you may wish to browse include:

Central Library - classifications H - HG

Hocken Collections - ask the Librarians to assist you.

If the book you are looking for is NOT held by Otago ...

Try these options:

Interloans
Submit an Interloan request for a book and staff will borrow it for you from another library. A fee of $25 applies to books borrowed from outside of NZ and Australia.
Recommend a Book
If there a book or other item you'd like to see in the Library's collection, submit a recommendation request. We will investigate acquiring materials that you would find useful to your research and learning.

If you want a chapter from a book that Otago holds...

You may choose to place a Scan Request for the chapter. It will be scanned and sent to your email as a pdf attachment.

Access to Print Books

Requesting a book that the Library holds:

Distance students may request books be sent to them for FREE.

To do this:

Log into Library Search | Ketu
Find the book you would like to request
Click the 'Available in the Library' tab
Click the 'Request' link
Select the 'Pick up location' to be 'home address'
Click 'Request'

The book will be couriered to you with a freepost return address sticker for you to use when you return the book.

Further information on requesting books.

NOTE: Books cannot be sent to students living overseas.

If the book you are looking for is NOT held by Otago...

Try these options:

Interloans
Submit an Interloan request for a book and staff will borrow it for you from another library and send it to your home address. A fee of $25 applies to books borrowed from outside of NZ and Australia.

NOTE: Books cannot be sent to students living overseas.
Recommend a Book
If there a book or other item you'd like to see in the Library's collection, submit a recommendation request. We will investigate acquiring materials that you would find useful to your research and learning

If you want a chapter from a book that Otago holds...

You may choose to place a Scan Request for the chapter. It will be scanned and sent to your email as a pdf attachment.

Further information about requesting a scan of a chapter.

Access to eBooks

Access to eBooks

Search Library Search | Ketu for eBooks. Use the 'eBook' filter to limit your results to eBooks.

Note:

Some eBooks will let you download them while some may only be read online.
There are limits on how many pages you may print or copy - each eBook provider will indicate what the limits are.

Finding journals & articles

Finding Journals & Peer Reviewed Articles:

Finding academic articles in Google Scholar

Find a journal in Library Search Ketu

If Otago does not hold a book or subscribe to a journal you can submit an Interloans request. Learn how at the link below:

http://www.otago.ac.nz/library/interloan.html

Business Administration - MBA, DBA: Finding Academic Literature

Finding books:

Access to print books

Access to eBooks

Finding journals & articles