Skip to Main Content

The University of Otago Library has re-designed its Subject Guides system. Please let us know what you think by filling out this survey.

Business Administration - MBA, DBA: Finding Grey Literature

Resources - use the tabs below to explore

Finding Company Reports & Profiles:

NZX Company Research 

Lists New Zealand company information and provides a comprehensive and regularly updated current and historical analysis of company data.

Factiva 

Access to a wide range of global and NZ news and business information content. Use the Companies/Markets menu to find company and industry reports.

Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest) 

Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from sources including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.

New Zealand Companies Office

Search the NZ Companies Register for companies, company directors or shareholders

Business Source Complete (via EBSCOhost) 

Use the 'Company Information' link or select 'Company profiles from 'More'

Finding Country & Industry Reports & Analysis: 

IBISWorld (NZ Industry Reports)

An industry report collection that offers insight into the major industries in the New Zealand economy at the 5-digit ANZSIC level. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major companies and more. See the video below on how to access IBIS World's NZ Industry Reports:

 

Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database (Euromonitor) 

Provides business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. It offers integrated access to statistics, reports, insightful comment and business information sources.
NOTE: first-time users need to register using an "otago.ac.nz email" address.

Passport Is Euromonitor's Syndicated Global Market Research Database - Euromonitor.com

Finding a PEST analysis for New Zealand in Passport:

 

 

Business Source Complete (via EBSCOhost) 

Coverage includes full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest) 

Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from sources including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.

ProQuest Central 

A leading electronic database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. It combines information from a number of leading online databases with subjects covering: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.

Factiva 

Access to a wide range of global and NZ news and business information content. Use the Companies/Markets menu to find company and industry reports

Finding Consumer Reports and Information:

Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database (Euromonitor) 

Provides business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. It offers integrated access to statistics, reports, insightful comment and business information sources. Coverage is global.
NOTE: first-time users need to register using an "otago.ac.nz email" address.

Passport Is Euromonitor's Syndicated Global Market Research Database - Euromonitor.com

Business Source Complete (via EBSCOhost) 

Coverage includes full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

OECD Main Economic Indicators 

Presents comparative statistics that provide an overview of recent international economic developments through the presentation of a wide range of short-term economic indicators for the OECD member countries, 5 area totals and selected non-member countries.

Grey Literature

- Grey (or gray) literature is material published outside of peer-reviewed journals and other traditional channels such as edited monographs (books).

- Often this means reports from government or non-governmental organisations or articles from trade journals and business magazines. It can also take the format of working papers, websites, conference presentations, social media and so on.

-  Most grey literature is not peer reviewed, so you need to use your judgement and assess it to decide whether it is a high quality resource. See the TRAAP test at the bottom of the page to help critically evaluate the appropriateness of the grey literature you find.

Finding business magazines/ trade Journals

Example:  The Havard Business Review 

It is important to critically evaluate grey literature as it is not peer reviewed or overseen by an established publisher.

Use the TRAAP test to determine whether or not to use resources in you research:

T = Timely

R = Relevant

A = Authoritative

A = Accurate

P = Purpose