LibGuides: Digital Humanities: Nau Mai Haere Mai

This guide supports Digital Humanities scholarship & practice @Otago University, by connecting people to the methods & tools, projects & other people transforming humanities scholarship in the digital realm

What is/are Digital Humanities?

Shape of Song - Material Girl by Madonna Source: hint.fm - Fernanda Viegas Martin Wattenberg. CC-BY [2003]

At their simplest, Digital Humanities is/are 'the humanities done digitally', emerging wherever computing power and the digital realm intersect with humanities scholarship. Some describe it as a field, others as a collection of techniques or practices for study, research and teaching. Still others would claim it is diverse and still being defined.

They often involve applying digital methods and practices to researching and teaching in social and cultural realms, as well as critically exploring the evolution of humanities disciplines in the digital age. Whatever they might be, they seem highly collaborative, non-respectful of disciplinary boundaries, and generative both of scholarship and of debate.

Further definitions can be found at CUNY Digital Humanities Resource Guide and What is Digital Humanities.

A selection of Otago-connected Digital Humanities projects

Marsden Online Archive | Hocken Collections, University of Otago Libraries & Centre for Colonial Culture

Marsden Online Archive | Hocken Collections, University of Otago Library & Centre for Colonial Culture

[Digital text archive - CMS missionary Rev. Samuel Marsden's letters and journals]

AKI | Katharina Ruckstuhl - School of Business & Poia Rewi - Te Tumu | School of Māori and Indigenous Studies

[iOS & Android app - Te Reo Māori vocabulary and phrase learning game]

Showband Mix-o-Matic app | Louise Kewene-Doig

Showband Mix-o-Matic | Louise Kewene-Doig - Music, Theatre and Performing Arts | Te Kāhui Tau

[iOS app - Teaching and learning Māori showband history and digital music creation]

AKI Hauora | Māori & Indigenous Health Institute (MIHI), UO Christchurch & Te Tumu | School of Māori and Indigenous Studies

[iOS & Android app - Te Reo Māori vocabulary and phrase learning game to support interactions within health environments and clinical settings.]

Dunedin Flat Names Project | Sarah Gallagher - Dunedin School of Medicine

[Blog - Documenting the naming of student flats in Dunedin]

Intro to Digital Humanities: concepts, methods, and tutorials for students and instructors
An online coursebook introducing basic skills and addressing critical issues in digital humanities relevant to a wide range of disciplines. The lessons assume no prior knowledge or experience and are meant to introduce. Based on the Introduction to Digital Humanities course at UCLA, taught by Drucker and Kim in 2011/12.
23 Research Things (2017) - digital tools to support your research
An online learning programme for university staff and graduate students developed by the University of Melbourne Library to help researchers develop a strategic approach to integrating digital skills into their work. Similar programmes exist at the Bodleian Library and Edinburgh University.
Digital Humanities | Zotero Library
An open, collaboratively-built, digital humanities bibliography for/by scholars interested in how digital media and technology are changing the humanities.
Glossary of digital humanities terms | Folgerpedia
Aimed at helping both novices and more advanced users of digital tools and approaches understand common terms employed in the digital humanities. Originally compiled by Daniel Powell in conjunction with the Early Modern Digital Agendas institute in July 2013, updated April 2017.

A new companion to Digital Humanities
A fully revised edition of a celebrated reference work, offering the most comprehensive and up-to-date collection of research currently available in this rapidly evolving discipline.
Short Guide to the Digital_Humanities
A concise overview of the Digital Humanities field by five leading practitioner-theorists. Also forms final section of the book Digital_Humanities
Debates in the Digital Humanities 2016
Explores how DH can and must change.
Understanding Digital Humanities
The application of new techniques and technologies in the Arts & Humanities.

We want your feedback!

This guide continues to evolve, and we really welcome your feedback so we can continue to improve it. Please let us know if you find:

Incorrect or irrelevant details, tools that don't work, dead links or otherwise unhelpful information
Helpful details, tools, links or information that you think need to be on the guide, but aren't currently.

We'd also love to hear from you if you want to have your project featured on the guide, or would like to be profiled on the Connect&Collaborate@Otago page. Email Alexander Ritchie, with any comments or suggestions on how we can improve it.

Viva Digital Humanities!