Department of Languages and Culture: Home
Subject Librarian
Engagement advisors
The University and its Library system can be a daunting environment. The Library's Engagement Advisors are knowledgeable, friendly and available to support Māori and Pacific students access and explore Library services, resources and spaces.
Donna Waitere
Māori Engagement Advisor
University Library | Te Whare Pukapuka Matua
Email: donna.waitere@otago.ac.nz
Sela Pole-Fehoko
Pacific Engagement Advisor
University Library | Te Whare Pukapuka Matua
Email: sela.pole-fehoko@otago.ac.nz
This guide is to help you study and research Asian Studies, French, Spanish, Japanese, and Global Studies at the University of Otago.
Below are a list of key databases suitable for the whole department. For a deeper dive into a specific subject, explore the Databases tab on the left.
Key databases
- Academic Search Complete (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracting for more than 10,000 journals, with full-text coverage for more than 6.000 titles. Covers a wide range of areas of academic study from the sciences to the arts.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to back issues (delay in coverage generally 3-5 years) of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. The Library's access includes all Arts & Sciences Collections, the Life Sciences Collection, Business IV, and the Ireland Collection.
- MLA International Bibliography (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Source documents include journal articles, books, and dissertations. Access to the MLA's Directory of Periodicals is also provided.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to over 400 high quality, peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals from over 100 scholarly publishers.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowA leading electronic database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. It combines information from a number of leading online databases with subjects covering: business, law, education, computing, science, technology, engineering, arts, medicine, and religion.
- Academic Video Online : Premium (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary collection of videos with thousands of titles and more added each month that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Academic Video Online: Premium allows students and researchers to analyse unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors of videos around the world.
LIBRARY 101
LIBRARY 101 is a series of in-person workshops that introduce you to Library skills and services.
Register to attend here!
