Department of Languages and Culture: Databases

From Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Asia and the West features primary source collections related to international relations between Asian countries and the West during the 19th century. Topics include British and U.S. foreign policy and diplomacy; Asian political, economic, and social affairs; the Philippine Insurrection, the Opium Wars, the Boxer Rebellion, and missionary activities in Asia.

This database focuses on business and financial news from the eastern hemisphere. It covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications.

Full-text academic journals published by scholarly organisations and educational institutions in East and South Asia countries. Major subject areas include business, science, technology, engineering, medical, social sciences, political science, law, and humanities.

Rich and growing collection of historical and contemporary primary sources in the arts, humanities and social sciences from and about South Asia.

Provides digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. A source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals with over 120 publishers currently participating.

A searchable full-text and full-image interdisciplinary Chinese journals database. Series F covers the subject areas of literature, history and philosophy. Requires Adobe Acrobat reader.

A searchable full-text and full-image interdisciplinary Chinese journals database. Series G covers the subject areas of politics, military affairs, and law. Requires Adobe Acrobat reader.

A comprehensive database of dissertations and theses in China. The Library subscription is to Series F covers the subject areas of literature, history and philosophy. Requires Adobe Acrobat reader.

A comprehensive database of dissertations and theses in China. The Library subscription is to Series F covers the subject areas of literature, history and philosophy. Requires Adobe Acrobat reader.

Japan Links, a comprehensive directory of useful websites. Web Japan provides information about Japan including facts, fun and new trends, traditional and pop culture, science and technology, food, travel, and lifestyle.

The Film Archive of the Deutsche Kinemathek contains works from all eras of German and international filmmaking. This includes examples from all genres of feature and documentary films as well as experimental, ephemeral and amateur films such as home movies, advertising spots and trailers.

Die Zeit is a German national weekly newspaper published in Hamburg in Germany. The newspaper is generally considered to be among the German newspapers of record and is known for its long and extensive articles.

DigiZeitschriften is a digital journal archive that offers retrospectively digitized scientific journal holdings. The focus is on key journals of German research with a long research tradition and constant publication.

Good for: ANTHROPOLOGY; ECONOMICS, POLITICS; SOCIOLOGY; BOOKS + JOURNALS
An online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research with a focus on anthropology, economics, politics and sociology. This database includes bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951.

Good for:COMMUNICATION & MEDIA STUDIES
CMMC is a great communication studies database that gives full-text access to many top communication journals covering related disciplines like media studies, linguistics, rhetoric, and discourse.

Good for: DOCUMENTARY FILM; GLOBAL CINEMA
A rich resource of diverse popular, independent, arthouse and documentary film across many languages, available for study and research streaming video service, including a strong Literature category.

Providing Access to Latin American Grey Literature. The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web." Typically, this content is published by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies that are not controlled by commercial publishers.

Through partnerships with organizations in Latin America and globally, LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to online information on, from, or about Latin America. To this end, LANIC hosts an extensive set of digital collections covering many different topics and content areas.