Linguistics: Welcome
Subject Librarian
Engagement advisors
The University and its Library system can be a daunting environment. The Library's Engagement Advisors are knowledgeable, friendly and available to support Māori and Pacific students access and explore Library services, resources and spaces.
Donna Waitere
Māori Engagement Advisor
University Library | Te Whare Pukapuka Matua
Email: donna.waitere@otago.ac.nz
Sela Pole-Fehoko
Pacific Engagement Advisor
University Library | Te Whare Pukapuka Matua
Email: sela.pole-fehoko@otago.ac.nz
Etymology of Black Lives Matter from Starkey Comics
Nau Mai Haere Mai | Welcome | Afio Mai | Aere Mai | Malo e me'a mai | Fakatalofa atu | Bula | Fakaalofa lahi atu | Ulu tonu mai! This guide is a starting point for studying and researching Linguistics at the University of Otago, and connects you to books, article databases & journals, major reference works, and other key sources, as well as information about citing and referencing.
Key resources
Below are recommended tools to use when searching for academic literature on your topic. Explore the Journals & Databases tab above in the navigation bar for even more database options.
- Oxford Reference [Subscription eBook platform]
Good for: STARTING OUT; SHORT DEFINITIONS
Looking for definitions or short explanations of terms? Start here before (or after) Wikipedia! This incredibly useful platform provides access to Oxford University Press titles, like subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, companions and handbooks across many disciplines.
- MLA International Bibliography [subscription database & index]
Good for: CURRENT RESEARCH; PHONETICS & PHONOLOGY; LANGUAGE LEARNING & TESOL; SEMANTICS; PRAGMATICS; SOCIOLINGUISTICS
Find scholarly books and articles on linguistics, modern languages, literatures, and folklore in multiple languages.
Database Guide.
- JSTOR [subscription full-text digital archive]
Good for: ALL DISCIPLINES; DIGITAL ARCHIVE; DELAYED ACCESS
Delayed full-text access to academic journals (usually a 2-3 years after publication) and current open-access books in linguistics, languages, literature, history, economics, politics, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities & social sciences.
- ERIC [subscription full-text database & index]
Good for: CURRENT RESEARCH; LANGUAGE LEARNING & TEACHING; TESOL / ESL; APPLIED LINGUISTICS
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is a US Federal government--sponsored article database that gives wide-ranging access to educational-related literature.
Linguistics Programme Links
Featured Resource
Very Short Introductions: LINGUISTICS
Expert authors combine facts, analysis, new insights, and enthusiasm to make often challenging topics highly readable to develop your core knowledge.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
Related Subject Guides
- English
- Gender Studies
- Māori Studies
- Pacific Studies
-
Library services for distance students
by Jacinda Boivin Last Updated Oct 29, 2024 2858 views this year
Need Help?
|
There are many ways to get help at the Library This guide lists key databases and journals you can use for finding articles and books for your assignments. Use keyword and topic searches to find relevant information on your topic. If you need any help with finding the right information or referencing something correctly, you can contact your Subject Librarian, or use the Self Help guide for tips. |
For other questions: * EXPLORE the Ask Library FAQs, or * MESSAGE Library staff via LibChat for instant answers during business hours. You can also: |
|
|
|
Diversify The Library
https://otago.libguides.com/Nga_Upoko_Tukutuku