Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image by Silvestre Cajigan from Pixabay
Welcome to the Music Subject Guide
Explore the tabs above for relevant resources and research advice
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Research many aspects of performing arts, including theatre, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, & storytelling. Full-text access to more than 130 magazines & journals, and indexes articles from 400 more. Most articles listed are post-1996.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
A comprehensive guide to publications on traditional, popular, and classical music from all over the world. Publications are in multiple languages and cover from 1967 to the present.
Music Periodicals Database
Explore all aspects of music from medieval chants to contemporary alternative rock, including music performance & theatre, ethnomusicology, theory, and composition. Full-text access to more than 200 magazines & journals, and indexes 600 more from across 20 countries, primarily from 1996 onwards.
Oxford Music Online
Research the history of music across a broad range of musical styles with external audio links. Includes Grove Music Online, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Companion to Music.
Naxos Music Library
The world's largest online classical music library with streaming access to more than 31,000 CDs with more than 440,000 tracks. On average, 500 new CDs are added to the library every month. The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels. In addition to allowing subscribers to listen to recordings, NML provides playing times of individual works or movements, detailed music notes, and opera libretti. Subscribers can also create personalized playlists.
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Volume 10, the final volume of The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, is a comprehensive compilation of the reference sections of Volumes 1 through 9. It also offers a glimpse of the fabric and work of conducting the research presented in those volumes.
A - Z of Library Resources
Events & Social Media
School Of Performing Arts
These 50-minute concerts showcase performances by staff, senior students, and visiting performers.
In the Marama Hall Wed 1 pm (semester time)
Tickets: $7 waged, $5 unwaged.
Door sales and Eftpos are available.
Tickets booked through Humantix