Pharmacology and Toxicology: Home
Subject Librarian | Kaitiaki Pukapuka
Library Kaiāwhina
Library Kaiāwhina are here to support tauira Māori across the University of Otago Libraries. Find out who they are.
The Pharmacology & Toxicology Subject Guide
Designed to be useful, relevant and user-friendly, this guide will provide you with access to a range of key library and information resources to aid your studies/research in Pharmacology & Toxicology. You can navigate this guide using the tabs across the top:
Journals & Databases Books Referencing & Writing Multimedia Resources Postgrad Research Websites
The majority of the print Pharmacology & Toxicology resources can be found in the Health Sciences Library located opposite Dunedin Hospital in the Sayers Building.
For further assistance with your research, please feel free to make an appointment to see the Pharmacology & Toxicology Subject Librarian - Thelma Fisher
Useful Quick Links
- AccessNeurology This link opens in a new windowAccessNeurology provides access to authoritative, trusted, and current information on neurology and neuroscience reference, research, and teaching.
- AccessPharmacyAn online curricular resource designed for pharmacy education. This database offers access to: textbooks; quick reference; multimedia library; drug therapy cases; self-assessment; topics in evidence-based pharmacy practice; integrated drug database.
- The New Zealand Formulary (NZF)The NZF is an independent resource providing healthcare professionals with clinically validated medicines information and guidance on best practice, enabling healthcare professionals to select safe and effective medicines for individual patients.
- The New Zealand Formulary for ChildrenThe NZF for Children is an independent resource providing healthcare professionals with clinically validated medicines information and guidance on best practice, enabling healthcare professionals to select safe and effective medicines for individual children.
- Best Practice (BPAC)The Best Practice Advocacy Centre New Zealand (bpacnz) is an independent, not-for-profit organisation. Their role is to deliver educational and continuing professional development programmes to medical practitioners and other health professional groups throughout New Zealand.
- MedsafeMedsafe is the New Zealand Medicines and Medical Devices Safety Authority. They are responsible for the regulation of medicines and medical devices in New Zealand. They ensure that medicines and medical devices are acceptably safe.
- PubMedCovers biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Date range 1960 onwards
- Interactive Clinical PharmacologyDeveloped at Hitlab NZ and Christchurch Hospital / University of Otago Christchurch, New Zealand.
- EmbaseA major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals.
- ToxlineThis NLM database, provides literature on toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.
- TOXINZThe TOXINZ™ Poisons Information Database is produced by the New Zealand National Poisons Centre at the University of Otago.
Plan your search
Featured Resource: British Pharmacopoeia
The BP is a vital online reference tool for all individuals and organisations involved in pharmaceutical research, development, manufacture, quality control and analysis. Content from BP 2014- is included.