LibGuides: Higher Education: Referencing

Reference Management Tools

Bibliographic management software can help you to store, organise, and format references. It also allows you to easily insert citations into Word documents and bibliographies as you write.

ENDNOTE

EndNote is desktop-based software that is supported and subsidized by the University
Using the Student Desktop from any device at any location will give you free access to Endnote
Order Endnote 20 from ITS for free
Support for using Endnote is available from ITS and the Library
Video tutorials made by Endnote
EndNote Web is also available - this may be more suitable if you are frequently working from more than one computer.

OPEN SOURCE REFERENCE MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE

Zotereo is freely available and has comprehensive online support
Mendeley is also freely to download and provides support via video tutorials

Endnote 20 Bite-sized Videos

Select a Citation Style (3:50)
Set the citation style to match your assignment/department requirements.
Add another EndNote Output Style (Mac) (2:31)
Add another EndNote Output Style (Windows) (3:57)
Add all available output styles (Mac) (2:32)
Add all available output styles (Windows) (2:48)
Setting Superscript in-text rule (2:58)
Vancouver Style web page referencing with EndNote (9.33)

Records can be easily added manually ,or by direct exporting from database search results. Video clips model using Chrome first, then Firefox.

Sort your EndNote Library records (3:52)
Use column headers to rearrange your references.
Tagging your EndNote Library records (new with EN21) (3:56)
Colour tag your records to organise them visually.
Find Full Text (5:58)
Tip and tricks to add fulltext files to your records.
Edit references = good housekeeping (5:34)
Preview your references are correct, modelled in APA 7th:
- Spelling
- Date
- Author display
- Title case
- Page numbers/Article numbers
- DOI or URL display
Annotate PDFs (3:48)
Use the built-in PDF viewer to read and annotate PDF articles. Add searchable sticky notes and other markups, including highlighting, underlining and strikeout. Annotations sync between your workstations and library sharees.
File Import (5:38)
Add a folder of existing PDFs to your Library, OR add a previous EndNote Library to your new Library.

Creating a Group Set or Group (6:07)
Organise your references into meaningful group sets or groups.
Adding a Smart Group (Windows) (1:07)
This function allows you to predetermine what records can be added to a Group now and dynamically in the future!
Using EndNote 20 to manage your PRISMA Flow Diagram (21:47)
EndNote can be used to manage citations and the PRISMA flow chart for your systematic review. In this video, we’ll show you how to create groups, add labels, and search within EndNote to assist in the creation of a PRISMA flow diagram.

Cite While You Write (17:51mins)
Use the built-in tools to insert your EndNote in-text citations as you write in Word, plus have the reference list automatically appear below in your selected output style.
Insert Footnotes (3:24)
Add Footnotes to your Word document using EndNote with Chicago 17th Footnote Style.
Print a Bibliography (3:09)
Sometimes it's useful to scan or share just the items in your Bibliography/Reference List, outside EndNote, in a Word document. Look for pattern consistency in your Referencing style. Return to EndNote to make corrections, then Update the Citations & Bibliography in your Word document.
Categorize References (1:07)
Customise your references catgeories, by Type, e.g. Primary Sources, Secondary Sources; or customised heading, e.g. Newspapers

EndNote 20 Library Sharing (1:02)
Share your designated EndNote Sync library with up to 400 other EndNote desktop users. Assign access rights on a user-by-user basis.
EndNote 20 Sharing Library Invitation (22 secs)
Accept your library sharing invitation before accessing a team's shared EndNote 20 library.
Opening a Shared Library (40 secs)
Access a library shared with you after accepting your sharing invitation. It's possible to be a sharee on multiple EndNote libraries at the same time.
Group Sharing (1:16)
Share a specific set of references from your EndNote library with up to 1,000 colleagues. Please note group sharees cannot view file attachments. Sharees can only view in EndNote Online, not EndNote desktop!

A class recording: expert features in EndNote 20 (MacOS): Ih30
Learners should be able to demonstrate expert-level knowledge required to gain a mastery of some of the more powerful features available in EndNote for library syncing, sharing, customizing reference formatting and more.
A class recording: EndNote 20 essentials (MacOS): 1h35
A class recording: EndNote 20 essentials (Windows): 1h25
EndNote Training video channel
Check out more videos on making best use of EndNote