LibGuides: Pacific Studies: Home

Featured Resources

Featured Resources

The Knowledge Basket - Pacific Islands News & Information Database (PINI)
(formerly known as Niustext). Is a rapidly growing research archive, that is updated daily. It is a full text database comprising articles from Newspapers, Magazines & Journals, Bulletins and Reports.
Trove
Search across millions of newspapers, journals, books, pictures, maps, and many other items from the cultural, community, and research collections around Australia. From a basic search to an advanced or customised search, and searching for First Australian content.
Pacific News Service
The Pacific Islands News Association (PINA) Ltd is the premier regional organisation representing the interests of media professionals in the Pacific region. It links radio, television, newspapers, magazines, online services, national associations and journalism schools in 23 Pacific Island.
Pacific Data Hub
The Pacific Data Hub (PDH) is a central repository of data about the Pacific and for the Pacific. The platform serves as a gateway to the most comprehensive collection of data and information about the Pacific across key areas, including population statistics, fisheries science, climate change adaptation, disaster risk reduction and resilience, conservation of plant genetic resources for food security, public health surveillance and human rights.
Ministry for Pacific Peoples
By using our extensive networks with Pacific communities across the country, as well as our knowledge and understanding of Pacific people, cultures and values, we influence public policy, programme and service decisions affecting Pacific Aotearoa.
Australia and New Zealand Reference Centre Plus
Combines Australia and New Zealand specific magazines, newspapers & newswires, reference books, and company information to create a collection of regional full text content available to schools, public libraries, and academic institutions.
Informit
Informit is a leading destination for enriching knowledge, connecting and educating the global community by sharing credible, peer-reviewed, scholarly research from Australasia and around the world.
Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN)
SSRN is composed of a number of specialised research networks in each of the social sciences. It includes an Abstract Database containing abstracts for over 273,200 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 224,300 full-text documents.
Data.Govt.NZ
Data.govt.nz helps people discover, collect, manage, use, share, re-use data. Learn about our history, the technology we use, and the partnership with DIA that makes it all possible.

LIBRARY 101

LIBRARY 101 is a series of in-person workshops that introduce you to Library skills and services.

Library Postgraduate Sessions via Zoom 2024.

These Library Information Sessions are provided specifically for postgraduate students. All sessions will be held on a Tuesday at 10:30 via Zoom - check below for Semester 1 dates. For more information and to register book now via this link

9 April	10:30 - 11:30	Thesis Information	For new thesis students: covers preparation, copyright compliance, submitting, and depositing.
16 April	10:30 - 11:30	Introduction to Effective Search Strategies	Learn how to search recommended databases for relevant literature, and manage your results.
23 April	10:30 - 12	Introduction to Research Data Management	Make sense of the complexity around data storage, description, re-use and archiving.
7 May	10:30 - 12	Introduction to Getting Published	Practical tips for postgraduates. Learn how to develop a publishing strategy and identify the right journals for submission.
21 May	10:30 - 11:30	Introduction to Researcher Profiles	Building online profiles to promote your research, and yourself.
11 June	10:30 - 12	Introduction to Research Impact & Metrics	Understand tools that explain impact factors and ranking for what to read, and where to publish.

Useful Links

Useful Links

Self Help

Distance Students

Managing Your References

Digital Humanities

Thesis Information

Research & Publishing Impact

Pacific Language Weeks 2024

Pacific Language Weeks 2024

The 2024 Pacific Language Weeks series will celebrate 11 Pacific languages and cultures throughout the year, including Rotuman, Samoan, Kiribati, Solomon Islands Pidgin, Cook Islands Māori, Tongan, Papua New Guinea Tok Pisin, Tuvaluan, Fijian, Niuean, and Tokelauan.