LibGuides: Bioethics: Books

E-Books

The Library's collection of e-books is growing all the time.

Benefits of e-books include:

Instant/any time access
They can be downloaded (for a specified period of time) or read online
The entire text is searchable and 'sticky notes' can be added
A percentage of the publication can be printed/saved
The e-book URL is permanent so you go back to a publication instantly

Search Library Search | Ketu, then filter by Ebooks; or use databases like Books@OVID for titles.

NCBI Bookshelf - freely available collection of electronic books, reports, databases, and other scholarly literature in biology, medicine, healthcare and the life sciences.

Book selection

A sample from the thousands of titles available:

Bioethics 4th ed. by Bruce Jennings (Ed)
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2014
6 vols, 2014
Encyclopedia of Global Bioethics
Call Number: ebook
2016
Handbook of Global Bioethics
Call Number: ebook 2013
ISBN: 9400725124
As the first of its kind,nbsp;this handbooknbsp;presents state-of-the-art information and analysis concerning the state of affairs in bioethics innbsp;around 40 countries. The country reports point out the most important discussions as well as the emerging topics in the field. Readers can orientate themselves quicklynbsp;with regard tonbsp;the various relevant issues, institutional structures and expertise available in these countries. The authorship of this reference work is truly global as it involves contributions from the best authors with innate knowledge of the bioethics situation in these countries.
International Encyclopedia of Ethics
Call Number: ebook 2013
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy
Call Number: ebook and Central Books B51 OZ5 2005
Publication Date: 2005
The Oxford Handbook of Ethical Theory
Call Number: Central Library Books BJ1012 .OZ5 & ebook
Ethics and the Environment: an introduction by Dale Jamieson
Ebook; Science Library Books GE42 .JA2

ULANZ - Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement

University Libraries of Australia and New Zealand (ULANZ) is a borrowing scheme that allows staff and students of Australian and New Zealand universities* to borrow in person from any other participating university library.

ULANZ allows borrowing in person by registered users.

*EXCEPT for The University of Auckland.

Search for Books using Library Search

Use Library Search | Ketu on the library homepage to search for books in all formats.

Watch this short video on how to use Library Search | Ketu.

Need more help? Use this guide.

We don't have the book? Try our Interloan service

Is the book you want not available at Otago?

Use the Interloan Service. We'll find another library that has it and borrow it for you - just fill out the Interloan Service request form.

Need more help?

Borrowing information
Information on borrowing entitlements
Recommend a Book
Is there a book or other item you'd like to see in the Library's collection? Fill out the Recommend a Book form. We want to acquire materials that you will find useful to your research and learning.

Standford Encycopedia of Philosophy

Constantly evolving and being updated, entries in this encyclopedia are maintained by experts in their field.

http://plato.stanford.edu/