Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bioethics: Journals & Databases

Looking for articles on your topic?

The quickest way to find articles on a specific topic is by searching a relevant database.

The University Library subscribes to hundreds of databases, but we recommend the ones listed below as a starting point for students and researchers.

Some provide only citations for articles, so look for Article Link to connect you to the fulltext, or try one of the methods described in the column on the right to access a copy.

If you need to bulk export records from a database, check these steps first.

Some key databases for Bioethics

These are some key databases relevant to searching for bioethics information - remember, this is a broad subject that reaches across fields. Think laterally when looking for reliable sources.

Looking for a Specific Article?

If you already have a citation for the article that you are looking for,

e.g:  Anderson, L. C., & Gerrard, D. F. (2005). Ethical issues concerning New Zealand sports doctors. Journal of Medical Ethics31(2), 88-92.

There are 3 easy ways to find a copy. These are listed below.

1) Find an Article using Library Search | Ketu

There are two options for finding articles using Library Search | Ketu [Remember to sign in]

1.   To find an article from a citation. Search for the "Title of the article" (within quotation marks)

2.   To find the Journal:

  • Check Library Search for the Title of the Journal (usually underlined or in Italics)
  • Do a Simple Title begins with search and limit to Journal Titles
  • The journal may be held in print, electonically, or both
  • Browse to find the correct year/volume and page numbers

Watch this short video on how to use Library Search | Ketu.   Need more help? Use this guide.

2) Find an Article using Google Scholar

You can use Google Scholar to find an article from a citation:
  • Try searching Google Scholar for the "Title of the Article" (usually within quotation marks)
  • Follow Otago Article Link in your results list
  • Follow the Article links to go directly to a copy of the article.
  • Google Scholar Tips & Tricks [pdf]
Google Scholar Search

3) Request a FREE Copy with the Interloan service

What is an Article Link?

Article Link connects article databases to the Library's e-journal collections. It tells you whether (and where) the full-text of an article is available.

You may see Article Link represented as:   or Article Link.