LibGuides: History: Newspapers

Newspapers are great primary sources of information about societal sentiments and events. Newspaper articles, photographs, cartoons, and advertisements can show:

How people reacted to certain events in history
What governments and local councils did and how society felt about their actions
Societal attitudes towards other countries or people
Reports of crime
Economic conditions, including job and product advertisements
Cultural and religious events, conflicts, and sentiments

Aotearoa, Australia, & Pacific

Australia & New Zealand Newstream
Provides access to leading Australian newspapers, including: The Australian, The Weekend Australian, The Courier-Mail, The Daily Telegraph, The Advertiser, The Herald-Sun, The Mercury, The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald, The Sun-Herald, The Illawarra Mercury, The Newcastle Herald, The Central Coast Herald and more.
Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
Articles about current events, business, politics and more from New Zealand and Australian newspapers, magazines, reference books and more.
Australian Periodical Publications 1840-1845
The site has been developed as part of the Australian Cooperative Digitisation Project and one of the Project's key aims was to ensure access to and preservation of the selected titles through a process of preservation microfilming and digitisation.
Index New Zealand
Abstracts and descriptions for articles from a huge range of New Zealand periodicals and newspapers since the 1950s.
The Koori Mail
Digital collection of 20 years of the Koori Mail – Australia’s fortnightly national Indigenous newspaper.
New Zealand Gazette Te Kāhiti o Aotearoa
The New Zealand Gazette is the official newspaper of the New Zealand government. It is an authoritative journal of constitutional record and contains official commercial and government notifications that are required by legislation to be published.
Newztext
Archive of full-text articles from many key NZ news and business publications. Newztext is both a research tool and a long-term archive and is updated daily. Produced by The Knowledge Basket, with contributions from publishers.
Niupepa: Maori newspapers
The niupepa collection consists of over 17,000 pages taken from 34 separate periodicals. It is based on "Niupepa 1842-1933", a microfiche collection produced by the Alexander Turnbull Library. 70% of the collection is written solely in Māori, 27% is bilingual and about 3% is written in English.
Otago Daily Times Online Edition
A free online source of local, national, and international news. A multimedia platform allows users to comment on stories, vote in polls,and submit photographs and stories. The site includes an 'On campus' section and home-pages for local towns.
Pacific Islands News & Information
A full-text database of news and information resources of the Pacific Islands. Comprises articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, bulletins and reports.
Papers Past
More than three million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers and periodicals. The collection covers the years 1839 to 1945 and includes 92 publications from all regions of New Zealand.
The Tasmanian Mail
July 7, 1877 to March 31, 1921. A weekly journal for Tasmania of politics, literature, science, agriculture, news and notes. The newspaper includes illustrations from 1888 to 1921.
Trove
Find over 398,954,968 Australian and online resources: books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more.

United Kingdom & Ireland

British Cartoon Archive
The British Cartoon Archive holds collections by over three hundred cartoonists. Many of these have been digitised and catalogued, and can be found among the 170,000 digitised items on the BCA website.
British Library Newspapers
British Library Newspapers consists of two major collections from the British Library which span three hundred years of newspaper publishing in the U.K.—17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century Newspapers.
Eighteenth Century Journals Portal
Includes digitised 18th Century newspapers from several UK Libraries.
The Gazette (includes London, Edinburgh and Belfast Gazettes)
A history of Britain since 1665. Search and access information from across each of the editions via one website.
The Guardian and the Observer
The complete digital archive of The Observer, 1791 - 2003 and, The Guardian, 1821 - 2003.
Irish Echo Australia
For 30 years, the Irish Echo has been the voice of Irish Australia, telling stories of expat life and creating content that celebrates the shared heritage between the two countries.
Irish Newspapers
Lists and links to current Irish newspaper websites.
The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times
The complete digital archive of The Irish Times (1859 - 2019) and The Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958).
The Irish Voice
IrishCentral is the leading Irish digital media company in North America. Our mission is to be the trusted source for information related to Ireland and the Irish - be it news, history, genealogy, travel, or cultural information.
National Library of Ireland: Newspaper Database
This database is a listing of newspaper titles held in the National Library of Ireland, including information on the latest date available of current titles.
Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition
An online edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers: Monthly Repository (1806-1837); Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833); Northern Star (1838-1852); Leader (1850-1860); English Woman’s Journal (1858-1864); Tomahawk (1867-1870); Publishers’ Circular (1880-1890).
The Scotsman
The complete digital archive of The Scotsman from 1817-1950.
Seventeenth-Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2010
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
Welsh Newspapers Online
A free online resource from the National Library of Wales that allows users to search and access digitised newspaper publications from 1804-1919.

Americas

The British Colonist
The leading paper for the province of British Columbia until the 1890s. This website contains all the issues from 1858 to December 1950 (also called The Daily British Colonist, the Daily Colonist, and other variants).
Brooklyn Newstand
Free access to the full run of the Brooklyn Daily Eagle newspaper published from 1841-1955), as well as Brooklyn Life, a society magazine published 1890-1931.
California Digital Newspaper Collection
This collection contains 564,994 issues comprising 6,026,540 pages and 42,398,323 articles. The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) at the University of California, Riverside.
Canadian Newsstream
This database offers access to the full-text of Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers including The Globe and Mail.
The Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s (USA) largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. As the unrivaled leader in higher education journalism, we serve our readers with indispensable real-time news and deep insights.
Chronicling America
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Emol
Top news website based in Chile. Use Google Translate to translate Spanish to English.
Georgia Historic Newspapers
The Georgia Historic Newspapers database is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia as part of Georgia HomePlace.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press Collection
Historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections
45 unique digital newspaper titles, including digital facsimilies of newspapers and trade journals in a variety of fields.
La Tercera
La Tercera, formerly known as La Tercera de la Hora, is a daily newspaper published in Santiago, Chile and owned by Copesa. Use Google Translate to translate Spanish to English.
Los Angeles Times
The complete digital archive of The Los Angeles Times from 1881 - 24 years ago.
New York Times
Provides historical content for: The New York Times from 1851 - four years ago.
NYS Historic Newspapers
The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
Jewish newspapers published in Pittsburgh, from the 1890s to 2010. Includes: the Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), the American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), the Jewish Chronicle (1962-2010), and the Y-JCC series (1926-1975).
Publimetro
Publimetro is a newspaper that is published and distributed in Latin America, in Chile, Colombia, Brazil, Mexico, Peru, and Puerto Rico. Use Google Translate to translate Spanish to English.
US Newsstream
This database enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Wall Street Journal
The complete digital archive of the Wall Street Journal from 1889 - 18 years ago.

Near & Middle East

ABYZ Near and Middle East News Media Guide
A directory of links to online news sources from around the world. It contains links to newspapers and other sites with news content such as broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies.
Al Jazeera | Middle East
Al Jazeera is an independent news organisation funded in part by the Qatari government. The network challenges established narratives and gives a global audience an alternative voice, one that put the people back at the centre of the news agenda.
BBC News | Middle East
BBC News stories on events in Asia. The BBC is the world’s leading public service broadcaster.
Historical Jewish Press
A collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. The database includes digital versions of each paper, making it possible to view the papers in their original layout.

Africa

ABYZ Africa News Media Guide
A directory of links to online news sources from around the world. It contains links to newspapers and other sites with news content such as broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies.
Al Jazeera | Africa
Al Jazeera is an independent news organisation funded in part by the Qatari government. The network challenges established narratives and gives a global audience an alternative voice, one that put the people back at the centre of the news agenda.
BBC News | Africa
BBC News stories on events in Africa. The BBC is the world’s leading public service broadcaster.

Quicklinks

Newspaper Databases

Aotearoa, Australia, & Pacific

United Kingdom & Ireland

Magazine Databases

Database Search Tips PDF
Two page PDF detailing keyword and boolean search tips, Google Scholar boolean search tips, and reverse citation searching.

Electronic Access Help
If you have any queries about our electronic resources (databases, e-journals or e-books), please contact the library using the form on this web page.
Interloan Service
The Interloan service enables library users to search for items, create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.
Reserve
Search your paper code (HIST108) to find what high demand texts your lecturers have put on Reserve.
Scan Request
This video shows how to request a PDF scan of a book section or print journal from any Otago library.

Global

Economist: Historical Archive 1843-2011
A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2011. The Economist delivers reports of international political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments, all over the world.
Google News Archive
Browse titles of historic newspapers digitised by Google. Use Google Search with the title to find results older than 30 days.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
A digital preservation repository and access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Internet Archive Newspapers
The newspapers in this collection have been scanned as part of a pilot project using microfilm and microfiche. After using a microfilm/fiche scanner to create a digital image of each page, the resulting images are processed so that each reel is contained in a single item with easily navigable files.
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. Also features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Award winning collections of digitized archives, with newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and more.
PressReader
A newspaper database providing access to the current issue (and up to a 90 day backfile) for over 3,000 titles worldwide. The newspapers replicate the print format.

Asia

Al Jazeera | Asia
Al Jazeera is an independent news organisation funded in part by the Qatari government.
BBC News | Asia
BBC News stories on events in Asia. The BBC is the world’s leading public service broadcaster.
China Daily
An authoritative provider of information, analysis, comment and entertainment for global readers with a special focus on China.
The Japan News
The Japan News is a daily English-language newspaper published by The Yomiuri Shimbun. The paper's fundamental editorial goal is to quickly inform readers about news in Japan and the world.
The Japan Times
Latest news and features from Japan: business, politics, commentary culture, life & style, entertainment and sports.
NewspaperSG
An online resource of current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers published between 1831-2009 digitised by the National Library of Singapore.

Europe

Deutsche Welle (DW)
Deutsche Welle (DW) is an unbiased media organization, based in Germany. We provide our journalistic content to people worldwide, giving them the freedom to make up their own minds and the information required to form their own opinions.
Die Ziet Online
ZEIT ONLINE offers you reporting, analysis and background information on current events on numerous platforms. Use Google Translate to translate from German to English.
El Mundo
El Mundo, formally El Mundo del Siglo Veintiuno is the second largest printed daily newspaper in Spain. The paper is considered one of the country's newspapers of record along with El País. Use Google Translate to translate Spanish to English.
El País
El País is a Spanish-language daily newspaper in Spain. El País is based in the capital city of Madrid and it is owned by the Spanish media conglomerate PRISA. According to the Office of Justification of Dissemination, it is the second most circulated daily newspaper in Spain as of December 2017.
Europeana Newspapers
Includes newspapers and newspaper clippings digitised by Europe's galleries, museums, libraries, archives and audiovisual collections.
Le Figaro
The oldest of France's daily newspapers. Considered by many to represent a conservative position. Use Google Translate to translate French to English.
Le Monde
Founded in 1944, Le Monde represents the "establishment" position. It is the most widely-read French daily newspaper, outside of France. Use Google Translate to translate French to English.
Libération
Founded in 1973 by Jean Paul Sartre and other leftists, this daily newspaper has moved to a more centrist position since its founding. Use Google Translate to translate French to English.

Magazine Databases

The Magazine Rack
The Magazine Rack is a collection of digitized magazines and monthly publications.
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically.
Te Ao Hou | The New World
This website lets you search and browse all 76 issues of the magazine Te Ao Hou The New World. Te Ao Hou was published from 1952 to 1976 by the Māori Affairs Department in New Zealand Aotearoa.
Vogue Archive
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution colour page images.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.