Medicine: EBM for General Practice: More on EBP

Evidence-based electronic textbooks and Guidelines

Evidence-based journal abstracts

Systematic reviews

Evidence-based journal abstracts

Original journal articles

This BMJ service is unique: all citations (from over 120 premier clinical journals) are pre-rated for quality by research staff, then rated for clinical relevance and interest by at least 3 members of a worldwide panel of practicing physicians.

"A suite of tools and resources to help you make EBM integral to your work and professional development, whether you want to learn more, teach others, or apply EBM principles to improve the health of your patients."

Oxford UK site, includes a downloadable CAT maker

"The goal of this website is to help develop, disseminate, and evaluate resources that can be used to practise and teach EBM for undergraduate, postgraduate and continuing education for health care professionals from a variety of clinical disciplines"

CRD is part of the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) and is a department of the University of York.
It provides research-based information about the effects of health and social care interventions and undertakes systematic reviews evaluating the research evidence on health and public health questions of national and international importance.

A University of Auckland site, including GATE system of appraisal and CAT tool

Includes an excellent EBM tutorial. Registration is required, but it is free.

"We offer critical appraisal skills training, workshops and tools. These help you find and check research for trustworthiness, results & relevance."

How to use the medical literature to improve patient care; the philosophy of evidence-based medicine; finding the evidence; why study results mislead: bias and random error; understanding the results; advanced topics in the validity of therapy trials; advanced topics in applying the results of therapy trials; advanced topics in harm.

McMaster PLUS includes the process of having articles critically appraised through the Critical Appraisal Process (CAP) to identify those that are methodologically sound, and then having pass articles rated by clinicians for relevance and newsworthiness through the McMaster Online Rating of Evidence (MORE) system. McMaster PLUS Database provides a new path to address the key question in this era of evidence-based medicine: what is the current best evidence available to support clinical decisions?