Anatomy: Postgrad Research
Library Postgraduate Sessions via Zoom - 2024, Semester 2
These Library Information Sessions are provided specifically for postgraduate students. All Semester 1 sessions will be held on a Tuesday at 10:30 via Zoom - check below for Semester 2 dates. For more information and to register book now via this link
| 13 August | 10:30 - 11:30 | Thesis Information | For new thesis students: covers preparation, copyright compliance, submitting, and depositing. |
| 20 August | 10:30 - 11:30 | Introduction to Effective Search Strategies |
Learn how to search recommended databases for relevant literature, and manage your results. |
| 27 August | 10:30 - 12 | Introduction to Research Data Management |
Make sense of the complexity around data storage, description, re-use and archiving. |
| 10 September | 10:30 - 12 | Introduction to Getting Published |
Practical tips for postgraduates. Learn how to develop a publishing strategy and identify the right journals for submission. |
| 24 September | 10:30 - 11:30 | Introduction to Researcher Profiles |
Building online profiles to promote your research, and yourself. |
| 1 October | 10:30 - 12 | Introduction to Research Impact & Metrics |
Understand tools that explain impact factors and ranking for what to read, and where to publish. |
Writing Your Thesis
- OUR ArchiveAll Otago theses and dissertations are required to be deposited in the OUR Archive. Depositors have the option to make their dissertation or thesis available in full-text.
Finding Theses & Dissertations
- OUR Archive - AnatomyItems recently deposited in the Otago University Research (OUR) Archive from the Anatomy Department including theses and dissertations.
- Te Puna (National Library of New Zealand)Search for theses in the collections of all New Zealand university libraries.
- NZResearchFind theses and other open-access research documents from NZ institutions; now hosted by DigitalNZ.
Finding Research Repositories
A research repository is a place to store an institution's intellectual research outputs. Try searching these sites to find more research:
- Otago University Research Archive (OUR Archive)Respository for research, including theses, produced at the University
- NZResearch This link opens in a new windowResearch documents produced at universities, polytechnics, and other research institutions throughout New Zealand
- SSRN: Social Science Research NetworkOpen source (freely accessible) international research repository
- Trove This link opens in a new windowTrove enables access to research from journal articles and papers and to Australian government sponsored working papers. It also provides access to grey literature not yet indexed by Google or Google scholar and to millions of overseas open access research articles.
Finding Conference Papers
Conferences papers are an excellent source of current research, best practices and new innovations in a research area. For a start, search the Web using the name of the conference, meeting, or symposium.
Full-text conference papers may be hard to obtain; sometimes abstracts are the only items available online. If a full paper is not available online, you could contact the author and request a copy. Also, the Library may be able to borrow or purchase published proceedings--talk to the Anatomy Subject Librarian.
- Library Search | KetuSearch for your topic and then limit to 'conference proceedings'
- ScopusAn article database which allows you to limit your search to conference papers.
- Web of ScienceArticle database which allows you to search by "Conference", and limit results by "Proceedings paper".
Finding Grey Literature
The term 'grey literature' is used to describe materials not published commercially or indexed by major databases. The Grey Literature In Health Library Guide discusses, and helps you find, relevant grey literature for research in health and medicine. Look through the tabs to find the information you need; General Sources, Conference Proceedings, Institutional Repositories, Clinical Trials, Guidelines and Statistics.
Finding Patents
Find out how many articles have cited your patent.
Check out the Patent Library Guide for information on searching for patents in databases and in patent office databases and for what support with patents is provided at the University of Otago.
Finding Open Access Resources
Open Access is a new model of scholarly communication based on the principle that research should be available freely online, for anyone to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, link to etc. There are Open Access Journals, Books, Databases and Archives.
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowFree, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
- PLOSPLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication
- OUR ArchiveOtago University Archive (OUR Archive) is an open access institutionalo archive.
Health Sciences Library Historical Collection
The Health Sciences Library has a Historical Collection located on the top floor of the Library. This collection includes a range of medical texts from the 17th to 19th centuries and the earliest copies of the NZ Medical Journal from the 19th century. Highlights include the 17th century anatomical pop-up book Pinax microcosmographicus, magnificent anatomical and surgical atlases from the 18th and 19th centuries and most editions of Gray's Anatomy, including the 1858 first edition.
More historic material from the Health Sciences Library is located at the Hocken Library and in Special Collections at the Central Library.