It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page contains information about finding book reviews. You'll need to know the title and author of the book, and the date it was first published is also very important, because most reviews are published shortly after the book. Some of the library databases that provide access to historic newspapers and magazines will be the most useful place to start looking, but for more recent books, databases that provide access to contemporary journals and newspapers will be more helpful. There are also several social social networking sites that specialise in book reviews by members.
Find Reviews in Magazines & Newspapers
These print and online magazines and newspapers all contain reviews of Books.
Includes digitised 18th Century newspapers from several UK Libraries. There is minimal overlap with other similar resources (e.g. Early English Books Online (EEBO); 19th Century British Library Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) and The Burney Collection).
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
Cross-search: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century British Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, the Making of Modern Law, and The Times Digital Archive.
Contains 70 newspapers selected by the British Library to provide a broad yet detailed view of British life in the 19th century. Includes daily and weekly newspapers, national and regional, as well as from Scotland, Ireland and Wales.
Digitized journals, with coverage ranging from as early as 1665. You can limit by date range (e.g. 1837-1901 for the Victorian Era).
These indexes can help you to find historic book (or theatre) reviews that were publised closer to a time a book or poem was published (or a play was performed). They will usually only provide a citation, so you'll need to check Library Search | Ketu (or Google books) to see if you can access the original newspaper or magazine that the review appeared in (e.g. The Edinburgh Review).
Note: The source title will often be abbreviated (e.g. GM = Gentleman's Magazine), so you may need to check the list of abbreviations at the start of the index.
If you're looking for reviews of a specific book, the best way to them is to search these databases for the Book Title and/or Author, and look for a way to limit your results to Book Reviews (Note: reviews are not always classified separately from articles).
Historical coverage of the world from 1450+ (excluding US & Canada). HA is the leading bibliography for historical study in the world with 2,000+ international journals. Researchers in history, multicultural studies, sociology, psychology, gender studies, religion, interdisciplinary studies, anthropology, political science, economics, business, education, music, art and law will find HA indispensable.
An excellent source for book reviews in newspapers worldwide. Under Subject expand + Content Type, then select Review and add the title and author to the free-text search box. Adjust the date range to All dates, or enter the date range for the 2 years following the book's publication date (if known).