LibGuides: Geography (Physical): Books &amp; eBooks

Physical Geography

Physical geography : the key concepts by Huggett, Richard J.
Call Number: GB54.5 .HW21 Science (Book)
ISBN: 9780203875674
Publication Date: 2010
Presents definitions of terms that are fundamental to physical geography and its many branches, covering topics ranging from ecology to geomorphology.
An introduction to physical geography and the environment by Holden, Joseph
Call Number: GB54.5 .IL3 2017 Science (Book)
ISBN: 9781292083575
Publication Date: 2017
An introduction to the major subjects of physical geography, this volume seeks to offer a baseline understanding of the environmental forces that have shaped, & continue to shape, the world in which we live.
Science, philosophy and physical geography by Inkpen, Robert
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 1-136-65463-1
Publication Date: 2013
This accessible and engaging text explores the relationship between philosophy, science and physical geography. It addresses an imbalance that exists in opinion, teaching and to a lesser extent research, between a philosophically enriched human geography and a perceived philosophically empty physical geography.
Our dynamic Earth : a primer by Bennett, Matthew
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9783030903510
Publication Date: 2022
Our Dynamic Earth introduces students to the Earth's origins, to plate tectonics, atmospheric and oceanographic circulation, as well as to a range of Earth surface processes.

World Geography

The physical geography of Georgia by Bolašvili, Nana.Neiże, Važa.
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9783030907532
Publication Date: 2022
This book is one of the first books in English to give a comprehensive and detailed overview of the complete physical geography of Georgia. It discusses natural and environmental conditions, geology, hydrology, geomorphology, landscapes, and resources and elaborates issues of environmental protection, natural hazards, resource potentials, tourism and many other topics of this multifaceted country.
Management geography : Asian perspectives focusing on Japan and surrounding regions by Taira, Atsushi, and Schlunze, Rolf D
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9789811944031
Publication Date: 2022
Management geography explores the spatial characteristics of management-related issues, especially of firms. This book discusses management geography in Japan and other Asian countries from Asian perspectives.
The geography of contemporary China by Wang, Jing'ai. Liang, and Shunlin.Shi, Peijun.
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9783031041587
Publication Date: 2022
This textbook provides a comprehensive and very detailed insight into Chinese Contemporary Geography in English. It documents the geographical issues associated with China's rapid growth. Since initiating the reforms and open policy, China has achieved tremendous success.
The geography of Uzbekistan : at the crossroads of the Silk Road by Gulyamova, Lola
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9783031078736
Publication Date: 2022
This book describes the geography of Uzbekistan and its unique history and culture. It focuses on the development of Uzbekistan as a result of its location on the crossroads of the Silk Road.

Creative Commons

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Geography (Physical) Staff Programme Publications

Division of Humanities

School of Geography

Geography (Physical)

Acting Head of Programme Geography (Physical)

Associate Professor Nicolas Cullen

(Journal Article)

Cook, F., Smith, R. O., Roughan, M., Cullen, N. J., Shears, N., & Bowen, M. (2022). Marine heatwaves in shallow coastal ecosystems are coupled with the atmosphere: Insights from half a century of daily in situ temperature records. Frontiers in Climate, 4, 1012022. doi: 10.3389/fclim.2022.1012022

Research Methods in Geography (Physical & Human)

The Palgrave handbook of critical physical geography by Lave, Rebecca., Biermann, Christine and Lane, Stuart N
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9783319714615
Publication Date: 2018
This handbook is recognition of the need to better integrate physical and human geography. It combines a collection of work and research within the new field of Critical Physical Geography, which gives critical attention to relations of social power with deep knowledge of a particular field of biophysical science.
Applied statistics in social sciences by Calderin-Ojeda, Enrique, and Gómez Déniz, Emilio
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9781003123439
Publication Date: 2022
This volume includes actuarial statistics, stochastic frontier analysis, duration models, population geography, income and wealth distribution, physical economics and tourism, among others.
Research design and proposal writing in spatial science by Gatrell, Jay D., Bierly, Gregory., Jensen, Ryan R., and Thakur, Rajiv R.
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9783030600198
Publication Date: 2021
The investigation of the interactions between human and physical systems poses unique conceptual, methodological, and practical challenges. This book establishes a spatial science framework for policymakers, social scientists, and environmental researchers as they explore and analyze complex problems.
The geohistorical approach : methods and applications by Piovan, Silvia Elena
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9783030424398
Publication Date: 2020
This book gives a comprehensive view of the strengths and limits of the interdisciplinary methods that work together to form the geohistorical approach to geographical and geological sciences.

Otago / North Otago Archive Centre's

Local Archives

D unedin City Council Archives

H ocken Archives

Presbyterian Research Centre (Archives)

Toitū Otago Settlers Museum (Archives)

Otago Museum (Collections / Archives)

Waitaki Archive

Dunedin Gasworks Museum (Archives)

Waikouaiti Coast Heritage Centre (Archives)

Ashburton Museum (Archives)

NZ Archives (Dunedin)

Ngāi Tahu Kareao (Archives)

Methodology Geography (Physical)

Methodological approaches in physical geography by Mustafa, Firuza Begham
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9783031071133
Publication Date: 2022
Geography science aims to observe the dynamics in describing earth's surface as a place and space for humans to carry out their lives, starting from simple identification using recording and sketching models, then utilizing tools such as maps, satellite imagery, statistics and Geographic Information Systems (GIS).
Disaster management in the complex Himalayan terrains : natural hazard management, methodologies and policy implications by Kanga, Shruti., Meraj, Gowhar., Farooq, Majid., Singh, Suraj Kumar., and Nathawat, M. S. (eds)
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9783030893088
Publication Date: 2022
The primary focus of this book is to replenish the gap in the available literature on the subject by bringing the concepts, theories, and practical experiences of the specialists and professionals in this field together in one volume to help students, researchers, and policymakers to address issues concerning management and policy implications of natural hazards in the complex Himalayan region.
New thinking in GIScience by Li, Bin., Shi, Xun., Zhu, A-Xing., Wang, Cuizhen and Lin, Hui,
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9789811938160
Publication Date: 2022
This book is a collection of seminal position essays by leading researchers on new development in Geographic Information Sciences (GIScience), covering a wide range of topics and representing a variety of perspectives.
Socio-spatial theory in Nordic geography : intellectual histories and critical interventions by Jakobsen, Peter., Jönsson, Erik Larsen and Henrik Gutzon
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9783031042348
Publication Date: 2022
This open access book is about socio-spatial theory in, and the nature of, Nordic geography. From both historical and contemporary perspectives, the book engages with theorisations of geography in the Nordic countries.

Geographical Theories

Historical geography, GIScience and textual analysis : landscapes of time and place by Travis, Charles., Ludlow, Francis, and Gyuris, Ferenc
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9783030375690
Publication Date: 2020
Confluences between the poetic and the positivistic; the empirical and the impressionistic; the epic and the episodic; and the chronologic and the chorologic, can be identified and studied by integrating practices in historical geography, GIScience / geoscience and textual analysis.
Questioning geography : fundamental debates by Castree, Noel., Rogers, Alisdair., and Sherman, Douglas Joel
Call Number: G62 .Q55 Central (Book)
ISBN: 1405101911
Publication Date: 2005
Questioning Geography introduces students to the fundamental debates that animate geography today. Covering both human and physical geography, each chapter addresses a key issue that continues to preoccupy geographers.
Brazilian geography : in theory and in the streets by Lois González, R. C. (Rubén Camilo) Mitidiero Junior, Marco Antonio.
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9789811937040
Publication Date: 2022
This book presents the history and theoretical contributions of Brazilian geography since the late twentieth century and shows how this sphere of knowledge has been organically integrated with social and territorial issues and with social movements.
Introduction to cryospheric science by Qin, Dahe., Yao, Tandong., Ding, Yongjian., and Ren, Jiawen.
Call Number: (eBook)
ISBN: 9789811664250
Publication Date: 2021
This book introduces systematically the cryospheric science, covering the formation, development, evolution, and research methods of each component of the cryosphere, the interaction between the cryosphere and the other spheres of the climate system and the anthroposphere, and the hot topics of social and economic sustainable development and geopolitics.