LibGuides: Performing Arts: Databases

Performing Arts

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
This database supports research in the key areas of academic study by providing peer-reviewed journals, full-text periodicals, reports, books, and more.
JSTOR
Provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences.
ProQuest Central
A database providing indexing/abstracting and full-text access to scholarly and general interest publications. Subjects covered include theatre, music, business, law, education, science, technology, engineering, arts, and religion.
Project Muse
Provides digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. A source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals with over 120 publishers currently participating.
Science Direct
Access full-text, peer reviewed journals, books, and reference works. Covers a broad range of subjects in the Social Sciences and Humanities, Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and, Physical Sciences and Engineering.

Theatreview
New Zealand professional theatre & dance: reviews, news, and your views.
Contributing constructively to the continuing conversation.
Playmarket New Zealand
Playmarket provides subscription access to over 1000 New Zealand play scripts. For access details please email: access.library@otago.ac.nz
Theatre Record
Theatre record reprints in full all the national drama critics' reviews of the latest productions in and out of London, with full casts and credits as well as production photographs.
Australian Plays Transform
Showcases the 'best Australian playwriting', and includes access to combined catalogues of Australia's leading theatrical publishers. Browseable or searchable by play; playwright; genre; cast size, age or gender.
Playscripts
Comprising the imprints Broadway Licensing, Dramatists Play Service, Playscripts and Stage Rights, is a global leader in theatrical licensing and distribution.

Alexander Street - Ethnographic Video Online
Alexander Street is the most comprehensive resource for visual anthropology in the world, providing access to over 2,000 hours of film and always growing, from raw field footage to crafted ethnographies and documentaries.
Digital Theatre Plus
Provides access to high quality films of leading British theatre productions as well as behind-the-scenes documentaries and interviews.
eTV
Provides real-time resources through recorded TV programmes, live streams and on demand videos. First-time users must register.
Kanopy
A streaming service that provides access to video content sourced from leading suppliers.

Database Search Tips PDF
Two page PDF detailing keyword and boolean search tips, Google Scholar boolean search tips, and reverse citation searching.
Electronic Access Help
If you have any queries about our electronic resources (databases, e-journals or e-books), please contact the library using the form on this web page.
Interloan Service
The Interloan service enables library users to search for items, create requests for items not held in the University of Otago Library, and monitor the progress of those requests.
Scan Request
This video shows how to request a PDF scan of a book section or print journal from any Otago library.