Preventive & Social Medicine: Public Health
Some key databases for Public Health
Public health information covers a range of disciplines, below are some of the key databases available to help you in your research.
- CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAn authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for more than 2,900 journals back to 1981 from the fields of nursing and allied health.
- Index New Zealand This link opens in a new windowNew Zealand database for general interest material, social research, current affairs, and the arts and humanities. Updated daily, INNZ provides citation access to articles published in New Zealand and South Pacific newspapers and journals from 1987 to the present.
- NZ Food Composition DatabaseOwned and managed by the New Zealand Institute for Plant and Food Research and the Ministry of Health.
- Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCombines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowAn online citation database for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowInternational information on sports medicine, exercise physiology,biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment.
- Web of ScienceMultidisciplinary, high-impact journals in science, social science, and the arts & humanities. 1898 onwards
- Transportation Research BoardFull text access to practice ready papers.
Book selection
Community Engagement, Organization, and Development for Public Health PrCall Number: ebook
Encyclopedia of Public HealthCall Number: ebook
Health Promotion in PracticeCall Number: Dunedin Medical WA 590 HJ794, ebook
International Encyclopedia of Public HealthCall Number: ebook
Internet, Phone, Mail, and Mixed-Mode SurveysCall Number: Medical Library (Dunedin) HM538 .D55 2014, ebook
Involving Service Users in Health and Social Care ResearchCall Number: ebook
Promoting Young PeopleS Sexual HealthCall Number: ebook
Social Injustice and Public HealthCall Number: ebook
Literature Reviews
Traditional / Narrative review - a critical summary and synthesis of previously published literature about a particular topic involves systematically exploring related literature. Narrative reviews can be organised by chronology, theme, or methodology, and may highlight issues of debate and gaps in current research.
Systematic Review - "[a] high-level overview of primary research on a particular research question. It seeks to collate all evidence that fits pre-specified eligibility criteria with the aim of minimising bias by using explicit systematic methods" - Cochrane Database. Commonly used within Health Sciences to compare and assess effectiveness of clinical interventions.
- PRISMAPRISMA provides an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses.
Scoping Review - "preliminary assessment of potential size and scope of available research literature. Aims to identify nature and extent of research evidence (usually including ongoing research) (Grant & Booth, 2009)."
International Organisations
- OECD: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development This link opens in a new windowThe OECD provides a forum in which governments can work together to share experiences and seek solutions to common problems to improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.