Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
DynaMed (subscribed resource)
A clinical reference tool that represents the best available evidence drawn from medical journals and systematic evidence review databases. The content is written by a world-class team of physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis. New information is integrated into existing content daily. The DynaMed app is free with every subscription and is compatible with iOS and Android devices - follow the Mobile link from the DynaMed landing page.
BMJ Best Practice (subscribed resource)
A clinical decision support tool for health professionals that provides access to the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion in a single source. BMJ Best Practice includes differential diagnosis tables, treatment algorithms, videos of common clinical procedures, integrated evidence from Cochrane Clinical Answers, over 250 medical calculators; an excellent EBM toolkit; Learn EBM (including information on the GRADE framework); Practice EBM (including information on Shared Decision Making). If you register for a (free) personal account you can download the app (IOS and Android) for free.
Cochrane Library via Wiley (subscribed resource)
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes three databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Patient.info (open access - free registration)
"Patient is one of the most trusted medical resources online, supplying evidence based information on a wide range of medical and health topics to patients and health professionals" This link is to the Medical Professionals part of the site.
NICE (open access - free registration)
UK National Institute for Health and Care Excellence "is an independent organisation responsible for providing national guidance on promoting good health and preventing and treating ill health".
BPAC (open access - free registration)
"Evidence-based, educational material for primary healthcare professionals in New Zealand...with free access to copies of our main publications; Best Practice Journal and Best Tests" The recently relaunched web site allows users to sign up for 'My BPAC' with customisable features.
ACCESSSS (open access - free registration required)
ACCESSSS is a service to help provide current best evidence for clinical decisions. It conducts searches simultaneously in several evidence-based information services (online evidence-based texts, evidence-based guidelines and pre-appraised journal publications). ACCESSSS also provides email alerts to newly published evidence in the user’s chosen area(s) of training/interest.
Southern Health Pathways (username and password required)
HealthPathways provides condition-management and referral information for clinicians working in the Southern District. The pathways reflect local expert opinion and resource and/or access constraints that apply in this region. As a starting point, information developed in Canterbury is being localised to Southern.