Medicine: Evidence-based practice: EBP (3) & (2)

Computerised Decision Support Systems

Synthesised summaries for clinical reference - integrating appraisal of lower layers

Systematically derived recommendations, including guidelines

Systematic reviews

Sources of studies (i.e. journal articles) and synopses of studies

UK National Institute for Health and Care Excellence "is an independent organisation responsible for providing national guidance on promoting good health and preventing and treating ill health".

Updated in 2013, "the handbook provides summary guidance from a collection of guidelines and is intended as a convenient reference for health professionals."

Formerly known as Health Navigator (open access). This site lists some NZ-relevant guidelines, often consensus-based rather than true evidence-based clinical guidelines. Also has a lot of useful patient information

ACCESSSS is a service to help provide current best evidence for clinical decisions. It conducts searches simultaneously in several evidence-based information services (online evidence-based texts, evidence-based guidelines and pre-appraised journal publications). ACCESSSS also provides email alerts to newly published evidence in the user’s chosen area(s) of training/interest.

A search engine for evidence-based clinical information. Results are sorted by type of evidence including: evidence-based synopses, systematic reviews, guidelines, primary research, textbooks and information for patients.

SUMSearch is a free medical, meta-search engine - though one with a fairly ugly interface.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes three databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Clinical Answers.

Find systematic reviews, meta-analyses, reviews of clinical trials, evidence-based medicine, consensus development conferences, and guidelines.

ACCESSSS is a service to help provide current best evidence for clinical decisions. It conducts searches simultaneously in several evidence-based information services (online evidence-based texts, evidence-based guidelines and pre-appraised journal publications). ACCESSSS also provides email alerts to newly published evidence in the user’s chosen area(s) of training/interest.

"Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care."

SUMSearch is a free medical, meta-search engine - though one with a fairly ugly interface.