Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CASP - Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (open access)
"We offer critical appraisal skills training, workshops and tools. These help you find and check research for trustworthiness, results & relevance."
Centre for Evidence Based Medicine, Oxford. Resources (open access)
EBM guides and practical how to's for researchers, clinicians, students and teachers
Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (open access)
CRD is part of the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) and is a department of the University of York.
It provides research-based information about the effects of health and social care interventions and undertakes systematic reviews evaluating the research evidence on health and public health questions of national and international importance.
EPIQ (open access)
A University of Auckland site, including GATE system of appraisal and CAT tool
Epistemonikos (open access - free registration)
Combines the best of Evidence-Based Health Care, information technologies and a network of experts to provide a unique tool for people making decisions concerning clinical or health-policy questions.
Evidence Alerts (open access)
DynaMed Plus and McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit are collaborating to provide you with access to current best evidence from research, tailored to your own health care interests, to support evidence-based clinical decisions.
JAMA Users' Guides to the Medical Literature (subscribed resource)
How to use the medical literature to improve patient care; the philosophy of evidence-based medicine; finding the evidence; why study results mislead: bias and random error; understanding the results; advanced topics in the validity of therapy trials; advanced topics in applying the results of therapy trials; advanced topics in harm.
McMaster Plus database (open access - free registration required)
McMaster PLUS includes the process of having articles critically appraised through the Critical Appraisal Process (CAP) to identify those that are methodologically sound, and then having pass articles rated by clinicians for relevance and newsworthiness through the McMaster Online Rating of Evidence (MORE) system. McMaster PLUS Database provides a new path to address the key question in this era of evidence-based medicine: what is the current best evidence available to support clinical decisions?
Decision Aids (Can) (open access)
From Ottawa in Ontario, "The A to Z Inventory of Decision Aids is designed to help you find a decision aid to meet your needs. It contains up-to-date and available decision aids that meet a minimal set of criteria"
Shared decision making (UK) (open access)
This links to an article from the BMJ in 2012.
"Although many clinicians feel they already use shared decision making, research shows a perception-reality gap. A M Stiggelbout and colleagues discuss why it is important and highlight some best practices"
Mayo Clinic (US) (open access)
From Minnesota, "The Mayo Clinic Shared Decision Making National Resource Center advances patient-centered medical care by promoting shared-decision making through the development, implementation, and assessment of patient decision aids and shared decision making techniques."
Option Grid (US) (open access)
This began at University of Cardiff in the UK, but is now based at Dartmouth College in New Hampshire. "Option Grid decision aids are brief, easy-to-read tools, available as print-outs or online interactive journeys to help patients and health professionals compare alternative healthcare options using answers to the questions patients frequently ask."
Harding Center for Risk Literacy (Germany) (open access)
Not just limited to the health sector, "Our goal is to help people in their struggle to understand and assess the risks facing them. Our primary focus is on health and medicine as well as on educating people from childhood onwards to understand statistics."
BMJ Best Practice - Shared Decision Making (subscribed resource - free registration)
Create a free account and access the EBM toolkit that includes a Practice EBM module that includes information on Shared Decision Making.
NZ Formulary (open access)
An independent resource providing healthcare professionals with clinically validated medicines information and guidance on best practice, enabling healthcare professionals to select safe and effective medicines for individual patients. Replaces MIMS Online.
Online Pharmaceutical Schedule (open access)
From Pharmac, "this is the online version of the Pharmaceutical Schedule. You can view drugs by their chemical or brand name or search for the medicine according to its grouping, which includes any guidelines and restrictions that may apply."
Prescriber Update (open access)
Prescriber Update is a newsletter written for health care professionals. Prescriber Update provides information on safety concerns with medicines and medical devices.
Medsafe (open access)
NZ drug info, including safety, datasheets and consumer information
BPAC Antibiotic Guide (open access)
This guide "is intended to aid selection of an appropriate antibiotic for typical patients with infections commonly seen in general practice. Individual patient circumstances and local resistance patterns may alter treatment choices."
New Zealand Pharmaceutical Schedule (open access)
From Pharmac: information about the NZ Pharmaceutical Schedule
British Pharmacopoeia (subscribed resource)
The official collection of standards for UK medicinal products and pharmaceutical substances (includes BP Veterinary).
Drugdex (subcribed resource)
Comprehensive monographs, evidence-based information on 2,300+ drugs. Covers FDA-approved, non-US, OTC, and investigational drugs. Searchable by generic name, brand name, adverse effect, or indications. Includes dosing tools and calculators.
PHARMAC Pharmaceutical schedule (open access)
The New Zealand Pharmaceutical Schedule is a list of the prescription medicines and therapeutic products subsidised by the Government.
NZ Family Planning Association (open access)
Although intended for the general public, there is useful information here for students. "We offer expert advice on oranga taihema, your sexual and reproductive health. This section includes advice on everything from contraception, to STIs, the body, relationships, pregnancy, abortion, sexuality education, and more."
BPAC Contraceptives Prescribing Guide (open access)
Prescribing contraception is a core part of primary care practice. A patient’s co-morbidities and concurrent medicines can influence the balance of risks and benefits and therefore the choice of contraceptive. Key changes in guidelines in recent years include recommending long-acting contraceptive methods, such as the levonorgestrel implant or intrauterine contraceptive devices (IUDs), for use in all ages, and using “the pill” in a continuous regimen.
IPPF Family Planning Handbook (open access)
Family Planning: A global handbook for providers is provided by the International Planned Parenthood Association. Can be read on screen or downloaded as a 5MB PDF.
UK Faculty of Sexual and Reproductive Healthcare (open access)
"The UK Medical Eligibility Criteria for Contraceptive Use (UKMEC) offers guidance to providers of contraception regarding who can use contraceptive methods safely."
UK FSRH Standards and Guidance (open access)
Clinical guidance and service standards from the site above.
ClinicalKey (subscribed resource)
As well as over 1200 medical texts, articles from more than 500 journals, etc., you can limit your search to FirstConsult, a resource with summaries similar to those found in UpToDate, DynaMed and Clinical Evidence. Use the 'filter' list on the left side of the results screen to limit results to e.g. FirstConsult (which includes differential diagnoses), texts, guidelines, etc.
AccessMedicine: John Murtagh’s General Practice Collection (subscribed resource)
AccessMedicine: John Murtagh’s General Practice Collection, or Murtagh Collection for short, provides an indispensable source of information for medical professionals and students alike. For more than 20 years, John Murtagh’s General Practice has been regarded throughout Australasia as the authoritative reference for practicing and aspiring GPs. The seventh edition of John Murtagh’s General Practice includes updates to sexual health and cervical cancer screening, mental health diagnosis and treatment, and chronic disorders which forms the backbone of this digital collection.
eMedicine (open access - free registration)
A "continually updated clinical reference" from Medscape.
General Practice Notebook (open access - free registration)
From the UK, "GPnotebook is an online encyclopaedia of medicine that provides a trusted immediate reference resource for clinicians in the UK and internationally."
The MSD Manuals (open access)
"First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, the Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers. As the Manual evolved, it continually expanded the reach and depth of its offerings to reflect the mission of providing the best medical information of the day to a wide cross-section of users, including medical professionals and students, veterinarians and veterinary students, and consumers."
iMedicalApps (open access)
"iMedicalApps is an independent online medical publication for medical professionals, patients, and analysts interested in mobile medical technology and health care apps. Our physician editors lead a team of physicians, allied health professionals, medical trainees, and mHealth analysts in providing reviews, research, and commentary of mobile medical technology. Our publication is heavily based on our own experiences in the hospital and clinic setting."
DiagnosisView (open access)
DiagnosisView is only available as an app for mobile devices. DiagnosisView was developed by The University of Edinburgh. It's aimed at students and practitioners of any healthcare profession. Provides in-hand info about every diagnosis, as you encounter any new patient. Always commences with advanced patient info. Free full topics: Acne, Bronchiectasis, Cholera, Cystic fibrosis, Coronavirus COVID-19, Gonorrhoea, Heart failure, Lung cancer, Nail problems, Postnatal depression, Pre-eclampsia.
Southern Health Pathways (username and password required)
HealthPathways provides condition-management and referral information for clinicians working in the Southern District. The pathways reflect local expert opinion and resource and/or access constraints that apply in this region. As a starting point, information developed in Canterbury is being localised to Southern.
Patient.info Professional Reference (open access - free registration)
"Find medical articles and other resources written by health professionals for professionals and medical students."
Cancer Society NZ (open access)
Patient and professional resources
DermNet (open access)
A New Zealand dermatology resource site
Immunisation Handbook NZ 2017 (open access)
"The Immunisation Handbook 2017 (the Handbook) provides clinical guidelines for health professionals on the safest and most effective use of vaccines in their practice. "
Immunisation Advisory Centre (IMAC) NZ (open access)
Based at the School of Population Health at The University of Auckland,it provides "New Zealanders with a local source of independent, factual information based on international and New Zealand scientific research regarding vaccine-preventable diseases and the benefits and risks of immunisation, information and training for health professionals, national immunisation coordination and policy advice and research into many aspects of vaccines and vaccine-preventable diseases."
Physical Examination tutorials (open access)
From the University of California San Diego, "A comprehensive physical examination and clinical education site for medical students and other health care professionals"
Canadian Task Force on Preventive Health Care (open access)
"This website is designed to serve as a practical guide to health care providers, planners and consumers for determining the inclusion or exclusion, content and frequency of a wide variety of preventive health interventions, using the evidence-based recommendations of the Canadian Task Force on Preventive Health Care (CTFPHC)"