Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"Patents are a rich and increasingly important source of scientific and technical information, much of which is not published elsewhere. The patent literature is interdisciplinary and international, encompassing innovations in every field of technology during the last two hundred years. Patents contain solutions to technical problems and engineering challenges. Patents reveal the current state-of-the-art and provide vital information for making informed decisions" about patent rights in new research discoveries - from Queen's University Library guide on Patents and Designs.
It is important to search patent (and non-patent) literature to understand if a research discovery/invention is novel and/or inventive - two key criteria that govern whether an invention is a patentable invention.
If patented, no-one else may commercialise the same invention for up to 20 years. A patent is valid only in the territory under the jurisdiction of the granting government.
Search for Patents in Recommended Databases
Provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Search for your topic or title then limit results using the Patents tab
SciFinder-n (from CAS) This link opens in a new window
Explore SciFinder Scholar by doing a search for Patents
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Limit search results by Patents. Covers all major areas in the life sciences, including molecular and cell biology, pharmacology, endocrinology, genetics, neurosciences, infectious diseases, ecology and organismal biology.
Try these tips:
- Use free text searching or full-text searching (including restrictions, e.g. claims and/or abstract)
- Search for a patent number, e.g. US4148102, EP54596, WO9802986, JP6005310
- Search for patent assignees - the person(s) or corporate body to whom all or limited rights under a patent are legally transferred, such as Smith, John or NASA
- Search using the Lens structured search or Lens biological search or citation analysis using PatCite
- Search with a patent classification:
- IPC (International Patent Classifications) in almost all the patent databases
- USPTO classification for US patent databases
- Machine translation of some documents is available when searching, e.g. PatentScope, Google Patents, Chinese Patent Office, and EspaceNet.
Search for Patents in International Patent Office Databases
Database for searching Australian patents and patent applications
Access to worldwide patent documents through the European Office
International Patent Offices
Links for Canada, China, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, India, Israel, Korea, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland and Taiwan.
Chinese Patent Office
Access Chinese Patent documentation from the People's Republic of China
Search for OECD Patent Statistics
Support with research commercialisation
Exporting Patents to EndNote
If the Patent site does NOT offer a Download or Export option, try Capture Ref to capture the data as a RIS file. Open the RIS file and it will appear in your EndNote Library. It may need some tweaking of the Patent details to be a quality reference. See full steps below searching Google Patents: