Pharmaceutical Sciences: Drug Info
Key databases for drug information
A range of databases to find quality drug information:
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals. It contains clinically-oriented, evidence-based summaries written by medical experts for point-of-care use by physicians, and other health care professionals.
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window A clinical decision support tool for health professionals that provides access to the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion in a single source. BMJ Best Practice includes differential diagnosis tables, treatment algorithms, videos of common clinical procedures, integrated evidence from Cochrane Clinical Answers, over 250 medical calculators and more.
- Martindale: the complete drug referenceSearch via Micromedex>Tox & Drug Product Lookup>Martindale Global Drug
- Embase This link opens in a new windowA major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals.
- Merck Index Online This link opens in a new windowSource of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowComprehensive monographs, evidence-based information on 2,300+ drugs. Covers FDA-approved, non-US, OTC, and investigational drugs. Searchable by generic name, brand name, adverse effect, or indications. Includes dosing tools and calculators. Access to Drugdex, Poisindex and Martindale.
What's new?
- See the latest issue of Prescriber Update from Medsafe
- DynaMed and BMJ Best Practice have replaced our UpToDate subscription (from 1/10/2018).
- The British Phamacopoeia now includes the latest five years of online access. (Click on Browse Publications to see the list.)
Formularies
British National Formulary (BNF)Latest 2 issues at Health Sciences Library Reserve QV 740 B862
BNF for Children2018-2019 at Health Sciences Library Reserve QV 740 B661
Sample of books
Drug information: a guide for pharmacists, 6e by Publication Date: 2018Ebook; and at Health Sciences Library Books: QV 737 ME35 2018
Stockley's Drug Interactions, 12e by Health Sciences Library Books QV 38 S865 2019
New Zealand Universal List of Medicines
Medicines information in the NZULM includes:
- whether a medicine is approved for use in New Zealand;
- what restrictions, if any, apply;
- whether it is subsidised and the level of subsidy; and
- any conditions that apply.
New Zealand Pharmaceutical Schedule
The New Zealand Pharmaceutical Schedule (the "Schedule") is a list of the approximately 2000 prescription medicines and therapeutic products subsidised by the Government. The Schedule is published three times a year and updated monthly.