Pharmacy: Books
E-Reference Books
Try one of our online reference books - a great starting point for your research, or check Library Search for ebooks on your search terms.
Many ebooks for Pharmacy are available from Access Pharmacy and ClinicalKey.
- NCBI BookshelfFreely available collection of thousands of electronic books, reports, databases, and other scholarly literature in biology, medicine, healthcare and the life sciences.
Pharmaceutical Care Practice: the Patient-Centered Approach to Medication Management, 3e by Call Number: Ebook and Health Sciences Library Books QV 21 CK13 2012
A Practical Guide to Contemporary Pharmacy Practice and Compounding by Publication Date: 2018Ebook; also at Health Sciences Library Books QV 778 TK87 2018
Microbiology and infection control for health professionals, 6eEbook and Health Sciences Library Reserve QW 700 LL21 2016
Community Pharmacy: Symptoms, Diagnosis and Treatment, 4e; Australia and New Zealand edition by Ebook (via Clinical Key) 2020
Rang & Dale's Pharmacology, 9e by 2020 Ebook; also at Health Sciences Library Reserve and Books QV 4 .R196 2020- Martindale: the complete drug referenceSearch via Micromedex>Tox & Drug Product Lookup>Martindale Global Drug
- British PharmacopoeiaEbook 2014 onwards; 1864-2017 volumes in Storage
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 21e by 2022 Ebook via Access Pharmacy
Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation, 12e by Publication Date: 2021
Stockley's Drug Interactions, 12e by Publication Date: 2019Health Sciences Library Books QV 38 S865 2019
The Maudsley Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry, 13e by Publication Date: 2018Ebook; 2021 14th ed. at Health Sciences Library QV 738 TD72 2021- Healthcare HandbookAccess this online handbook via this Pharmacy Today link - no download available.
Search for Books using Library Search
Use Library Search | Ketu on the library homepage to search for books in all formats.
Watch this short video on how to use Library Search | Ketu.
Need more help? Use this guide.
E-Books
The Library's collection of e-books is growing all the time.
Benefits of e-books include:
- Instant/any time access
- They can be downloaded (for a specified period of time) or read online
- The entire text is searchable and 'sticky notes' can be added
- A percentage of the publication can be printed/saved
- The e-book URL is permanent so you go back to a publication instantly
Search Library Search | Ketu, then filter by Ebooks; or use databases like Books@OVID for titles.
NCBI Bookshelf - freely available collection of electronic books, reports, databases, and other scholarly literature in biology, medicine, healthcare and the life sciences.
Need more help?
- Borrowing informationInformation on borrowing entitlements
- Recommend a BookIs there a book or other item you'd like to see in the Library's collection? Fill out the Recommend a Book form. We want to acquire materials that you will find useful to your research and learning.
We don't have the book? Try our Interloan service
Is the book you want not available at Otago?
Use the Interloan Service. We'll find another library that has it and borrow it for you - just fill out the Interloan Service request form.
ULANZ - Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement
University Libraries of Australia and New Zealand (ULANZ) is a borrowing scheme that allows staff and students of Australian and New Zealand universities* to borrow in person from any other participating university library.
ULANZ allows borrowing in person by registered users.
*EXCEPT for The University of Auckland.
New Zealand Pharmaceutical Schedule
The New Zealand Pharmaceutical Schedule (the "Schedule") is a list of the approximately 2000 prescription medicines and therapeutic products subsidised by the Government. The Schedule is published three times a year and updated monthly.