Pharmacy: Journals & Databases

The quickest way to find articles on a specific topic is by searching a relevant database.

The University Library subscribes to hundreds of databases, but we recommend the ones listed below as a starting point for students and researchers.

Some provide only citations for articles, so look for Article Link to connect you to the fulltext, or try one of the methods described in the column on the right to access a copy.

If you need to bulk export records from a database, check these steps first.

Biomedical databases:

Clinical evidence databases:

Pharmaceutical databases:

SciFinder Quickstart Guide for Performing a Search (pdf)

SciFinder Quick Reference Guide (pdf)

Grey literature databases:

OVID offers a range of training videos at https://tools.ovid.com/ovidtools/videos.html e.g. 

MEDLINE (18:11 min) 

Ovid TermFinder (3:55 min) 

Advanced Search: Keyword Searching (3:58 min) 

Advanced Search: Mapping (4:32 min) 

Managing Search Results (8:47 min) 

Refining Search Strategy with Limits (2:59 min)

Embase (24:39 min) 

These  tutorials are designed to provide a basic introduction to searching the databases.

• Anatomy of a Journal Reference
• Databases VS Search Engines
• Developing a Search Strategy
• Subject Headings VS Keywords
• PubMed
• Medline
• CINAHL
• Embase
• Global Health
• Google Scholar
• Proquest Central
• PsycINFO
• Scopus
• Web of Science
• Library Search | Ketu
• SIFT Evaluating Information
• What the CRAPP - evaluating e-resources
• Rauru Whakarare Evaluation Framework

Try these steps:

• Analyse a topic and develop a search strategy to find relevant information

• Identify the main resources for information used in academic study

• Use search techniques to effectively find information in these resources

There are two options for finding articles using Library Search | Ketu [Remember to sign in]

1.   To find an article from a citation. Search for the "Title of the article" (within quotation marks)

2.   To find the Journal:

• Check Library Search for the Title of the Journal (usually underlined or in Italics)
• Do a Simple Title begins with search and limit to Journal Titles
• The journal may be held in print, electonically, or both
• Browse to find the correct year/volume and page numbers

Watch this short video on how to use Library Search | Ketu.   Need more help? Use this guide.

• Try searching Google Scholar for the "Title of the Article" (usually within quotation marks)
• Follow Otago Article Link in your results list
• Follow the Article links to go directly to a copy of the article.
• Google Scholar Tips & Tricks [pdf]

Article Link connects article databases to the Library's e-journal collections. It tells you whether (and where) the full-text of an article is available.

You may see Article Link represented as:   or Article Link.

Set up alerts to authors, search topics, journal articles, books, chapters, journal table of contents, and combinations of these.

Use the database functions once registered for an account or profile. More tips in our Keeping up-to-date with research guide.