Skip to Main Content

The University of Otago Library has updated its Subject Guides system. Please let us know what you think by filling out this survey.

EndNote X9

Inserting Citations to Create Bibliographies in Word

EndNote's Cite While You Write (CWYW) allows you to work between EndNote and Word to insert citations into your document(s) at any time during your writing process.

CWYW automatically builds a reference list from the citations you insert, and will automatically update the bibliography (reference list) to reflect changes you may make later.

You will find the commands you need to do this in the EndNote X9 toolbar in Word. If the EndNote X9 toolbar does not appear automatically, contact us for help.

EndNote - MS Word EndNote Toolbar
Insert Citation

In order to insert one or more citations from your EndNote library into a document, both the EndNote library and the document need to be open.

  1. Position the cursor in the text of your document where you want the citation to go.

    If the style you want to present your document in will be an Author-Date style, e.g. APA 6th, you may need to add a space.

    If you will be using a numbered style, e.g. Vancouver, do not add a space.

  2. Click Insert Citation Insert Citation in the EndNote X9 toolbar.
    EndNote - MS Word EndNote insert citation
  3. In the pop-up you can search by author or title words (or parts of words), or by dates, to identify the reference you want.
    EndNote X9 - MS Word - find citation
  4. Select your chosen reference, then click Insert. Your citation will appear where the cursor was placed in your Word document as an in-text citation, and the full reference will appear at the end of your document.
  5. You can use the Ctrl key to select more than one reference from the list, and both/all will be inserted. If you choose one reference, then add another later using the same process, EndNote will automatically merge the citations.
As it is easy to change between citation styles in EndNote, it may be easier to use an Author-Date style like APA 6th while you are writing so you can easily see which citations go where. When you change styles, EndNote will automatically update the in-text citations and bibliography.
If your eventual style will be a Numbered style like Vancouver, remember not to add a space before you insert the reference.
Font, size and spacing settings for the bibliography (references list) are independent of the Word document settings. Edit these using the Layout tab of Configure Bibliography which you can find in the Bibliography section of the EndNote X9 tab.
Video thumbnail
Update Citation

If you edit a reference in your EndNote library subsequent to inserting it in your document (e.g. to correct a typo, or add missing details), just click Update Citations and Bibliography in the Bibliography section of the EndNote X9 toolbar in Word, and the changes you have made will appear in your document also.

Remove Citation

To effectively delete a reference from the document (and bibliography) you must use EndNote's Remove Citation function rather than relying on Word's delete function. This will ensure that the reference is completely removed, and EndNote will automatically check the bibliography and remove the reference only if that was the only use of it in your document.

To delete a reference:

  1. Click once on the in-text citation to highlight it.
  2. Then choose Edit & Manage Citation(s) from the EndNote X9 toolbar in Word.
  3. In the pop-up window, click the down arrow next to Edit Reference and select Remove Citation.

EndNote’s default display setting for Author-Date styles like APA 6th is to include both the author name(s) and the date in brackets, e.g. (Example-name, 2019).

In some instances, you might want to omit the author name(s) or the date if that information appears in the text nearby, e.g.

Harris and colleagues (2015) finally established that ...
In 1981 a cohort study which formed part of the Christchurch Child Development Study (Fergusson et al.) found that ...

and sometimes citations for books or reports will require you to add page numbers, e.g.

Durie (1998, pp. 60-65) argues the case for ...

To make these amendments:

  1. Click on the in-text citation you want to amend.
  2. Click on Edit & Manage Citation(s) and use the dialogue box to amend the citation as required.
  3. Click OK. The changes will appear only in the in-text citations you have amended where you have clicked on them; other uses of these citations in your document will appear as they would normally unless you amend them as well.
  • The citation style used in the document is set using the output Style drop-down in Word.
    EndNote - MS Word output style
  • If the style you change to requires abbreviated journal titles, and not all the titles you have used are appearing in abbreviated form, we can help with that.
  • If some of the citations you have inserted are not appearing as they should in the bibliography, check the quality of the corresponding record in EndNote, and that it is in the correct Reference Type. If it is still not right, contact us for help.

EndNote references in your document contain code. If you submit a code-rich document which becomes corrupted, the person who is marking or editing your work will not be able to see the impeccable referencing that you have worked so hard on.

For this reason we recommend that you create a duplicate document with no code to submit, i.e. you will end up with your original document containing the EndNote code which you may need later if changes are required, plus a new document with no code.

These documents must have different names. Using the same name as the previous document will overwrite it and you will lose all your EndNote coding – we strongly recommend you do not do this.

To safely create a code-free duplicate copy:

  1. First save your document.
  2. On the EndNote X9 toolbar in Word, click Convert Citations and Bibliography Convert to Plain Text
    EndNote X9 - MS Word - Convert to plain text
  3. You will see a message warning you that Word is going to create a new version of your document with all of the EndNote coding removed.
    EndNote X9 - MS Word - Convert to plain text warning
  4. Click OK. The new version of your document with no EndNote coding will open.
  5. Use File Save As to save your new document with a name that is different from the previous one (adding something like NOCODE to the previous name works).