LibGuides: Higher Education: Databases: journals & newspapers

Article databases

Search across these indexes and databases to locate journal articles. For the complete list of all the subscription databases at Otago University, see our Databases webpage.

Academic Search Complete (via EBSCOhost)
Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 10,000 journals, with full-text coverage for more than 6.000 titles.

Education Research Complete (EBSCO)
An online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

ERIC (ProQuest)
A database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

ProQuest Education Journals
Provides access to educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full-text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
PsycInfo
Index to professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including sociology, education, linguistics, and other areas.
Science Direct
This database includes a range of Social Science, Humanities and Education journals in its collections.

Scopus
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides access to the world's leading citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Emerging Sources Citation Index; Index Chemicus; Book Citation Index; and, Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers the highest impact journals, including Open Access journals and conference proceedings.

Find an Article using Google Scholar

You can use Google Scholar to find an article from a citation:

Try searching Google Scholar for the "Title of the Article" (usually within quotation marks)
Follow the Otago Article Linker links in your results list
Follow the Article links to go directly to a copy of the article.

Off-Campus? Access Google Scholar via this link:

Off-Campus Access to Google Scholar

Factiva
Access to a wide range of global and NZ news and business information content from more than 28,000 sources, from 157 countries in 23 languages.
PressReader
Access to over 1,000 newspapers from over 80 countries in 40 different languages. The newspapers are presented exactly as they are in print format and are available to read at the same time (often earlier) than the print versions. NOTE: Only goes back 90 days.

Newspapers Libguide
This guide allows you to quickly identify newspapers from specific countries and time-periods, with tips to quickly find specific newspapers in our collections.