Skip to Main Content

The Otago LibGuides are changing! The system will undergo a major update from 17 June to 15 July. You can learn more by taking a look at our LibGuides prototype here.

Education: Robertson Library collections

This guide brings together important resources for studies in Education and Teaching. These resources include book collections, online article databases & journals, major reference works, and more.

Robertson Library Reserve collection (ground floor)

This collection is made up of required and recommended publications for education Items in the Library Reserve collections are selected by lecturers. They are usually required or recommended resources. If you have trouble finding what you need, ask Library staff at the nearby Help desk.

  • Books are 2-hour loan DVDs are 3- hours
  • Borrow books using the self-checkout machine before leaving the Reserve area or ask Library staff for assistance.
  • Books requested and ready for collection can be found on the Hold shelf.

 

Photo of the Reserve Collection indicating the Self-checkout Machine and Hold shelf

Education journal collection (ground floor)

There are journals collections in the Robertson and Southland campus libraries and much more available online (use Library Search or the Education databases).

 

Picture of the location of the Education journal collection in the Robertson Library

Education book collection (upstairs) labeled University collection

Located upstairs beyond the book stacks labelled Otago Polytechnic. For more information about what is in this collection, open the browsing guide below.

Teaching Support collection

The Teaching Support collection is located on the 1st floor (turn left at the top of the stairs).

Resources include:

  • Big books (fiction and non fiction)
  • First books (fiction and non fiction)
  • Picture books (fiction and non fiction / literature)
  • Ministry of Education resources Readers (multiple copies, English and Te reo Māori)
  • Non-fiction (these range from first books to secondary school resources)
  • Children's and Young Adult fiction / literature Curriculum support resources - for developing lessons and taking into the classroom
  • School Journal series - the complete series is in the Robertson Library Education Journals collection (ground floor)

 

Relevant collections in other UO Libraries

Central Library

BF - Psychology (e.g. developmental psychology (child/human development), pediatric psychology, social psychology

DU - New Zealand – History; Maori resources

GV- Physical education & training publications H-Social Sciences (e.g. Social Anthropology, Sociology, Gender studies)

MT - Music - instruction and study

N-Fine Arts

PN- Performing arts, theatre, drama in education, drama – study and teaching

 

Science Library

Q-  All areas of science excluding Medicine

T- Technology (includes Handicrafts – arts & crafts; Home economics)