Oral Health: Journals & Databases
Some key databases for Oral Health
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowCovers biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Date range 1960 onwards.
- Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowOvid MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 3,900 journals published world-wide.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
- CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAn authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for more than 2,900 journals back to 1981 from the fields of nursing and allied health.
- Web of Science All Databases This link opens in a new windowSearch across Web of Science Core Collection, Current Contents Connect, KCI-Korean Journal Database, Medline, Preprint Citation Index, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index and Zoological Record for comprehensive, multidisciplinary results. 1864+
Database Tutorials
These tutorials are designed to provide a basic introduction to searching the databases.
- Anatomy of a Journal Reference
- Databases VS Search Engines
- Developing a Search Strategy
- Subject Headings VS Keywords
- PubMed
- Medline
- CINAHL
- Embase
- Global Health
- Google Scholar
- Proquest Central
- PsycINFO
- Scopus
- Web of Science
- Library Search | Ketu (for Health Science)
- Library Search | Ketu (for Science)
- SIFT Evaluating Information
- Rauru Whakarare Evaluation Framework
- TRAAP Test
Looking for articles on your topic?
The quickest way to find articles on a specific topic is by searching a relevant database.
Some provide only citations for articles, so look for Article Link to connect you to the fulltext, or try one of the methods below to access a copy.
TIP: For best results....take the time to plan your search BEFORE you start searching the databases
If the article you need is not online? Get It!
Try these options:
- Library Search | Ketu This link opens in a new windowLibrary Search | Ketu provides fast, simple, one-step searching across the University of Otago Library's resources. It is designed to make it quick and easy to begin researching a topic. It is not a replacement for the detailed and precise search tools available from individual subject specific databases.
- InterloansIf Otago does not hold the issue in hardcopy, submit an Interloans request for the article. Staff will try to get the article for you from another Library. Article requests are free.
ResearchRabbit
ResearchRabbit is an innovative "citation-based literature mapping tool" available online. Optimise your time searching for references as you start planning your essay, minor project, or literature review.
What is Research Rabbit? A quick guide from James Cook University.