LibGuides: Oral Health: Research Support

Postgraduate Information Sessions and Workshops 2023

There are Library sessions and workshops provided specifically for Postgraduate students. For more information and to register book now by Zoom or face-to- face.

Information sessions 10-11am (via Zoom) or 2-3pm (face-to-face) on Wednesdays

22 Feb; 26 Jul - Postgraduate Library Services – An introduction to Library support, recommended resources and services.
29 Mar; 30 Aug - Effective Search Strategies - Learn how to search recommended databases for relevant literature, and manage your results
26 Apr; 27 Sep - Thesis Information – For new thesis students, about preparation, copyright compliance, submitting, and depositing.
28 Jun; 25 Oct - Researcher Profiles - Building an online profile to promote your research, and yourself.

Hands-on Workshops 10-11.30am (via Zoom) or 2-3.30pm (face-to-face) on Tuesdays and Thursdays

13 Apr; 20 Jun; 22 Aug - EndNote for PC (Windows) - Use EndNote to store, group, edit and annotate references, and cite while you write
18 Apr; 22 Jun; 24 Aug - EndNote for Mac - Use EndNote to store, group, edit and annotate references, and cite while you write
25 May; 26 Oct - Research Data Management - Make sense of the complexity around data storage, description, re-use and archiving (face-to-face only).
30 May; 31 Oct - Getting published - Practical tips for postgraduates. Learn how to develop a publishing strategy and identify the right journals for submission.
1 Jun; 2 Nov - Impact Metrics - Understand tools that explain impact factors and ranking for what to read, and where to publish.

Writing Your Thesis

Thesis Information Library Guide
Essential information and advice for Postgraduates on the many stages of the thesis process, from planning to submitting.
OUR Archive
All Otago theses and dissertations are required to be deposited in the OUR Archive. Depositors have the option to make their dissertation or thesis available in full-text.
SAGE Research Methods
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. The database links SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Sage Campus
SAGE Campus is a digital library product that supports the teaching and learning of skills and research methods through 280+ hours of structured online learning. Our style is self-paced and instructor-led, comprised of an engaging mix of SAGE-quality content, video, interactives, and formative assessments. Our flexible learning pathways cover tricky skills and research methods that can be applied across all stages of academic study; from undergraduates looking to critically assess information to researchers looking to report and publish their data.
EQUATOR Network
= Enhancing the QUAlity and Transparency Of health Research. The EQUATOR Network has goals of raising awareness of the importance of good reporting of research, assisting in the development, dissemination and implementation of reporting guidelines for different types of study designs, monitoring the status of the quality of reporting of research studies in the health sciences literature, and conducting research relating to issues that impact the quality of reporting of health research studies.

Finding Conference Papers

Conferences papers are an excellent source of current research, best practices and new innovations in a research area.For a start, search the Web using the name of the conference, meeting, or symposium.

Full-text conference papers may be hard to obtain; sometimes abstracts are the only items available online. If a full paper is not available online, you could contact the author and request a copy. Also, the Library may be able to borrow or purchase published proceedings--talk to the Anatomy Subject Librarian.

Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
Combine one or more search term to find material on your topic

Scopus
An article database which allows you to limit your search to conferences by using the drop down menu next to the search box
Web of Science
Article database with a 'conference' option in the topic field

Postgraduate Library Services

Been away from study for a while? Want to refresh your skills so you can 'hit the ground running'?

Check the PG Library Information Sessions and Workshops in this guide - there are recordings, slides, handouts and links to support you. If you prefer to attend a session, please register for our: Zoom workshops.

Citation databases

If you find a great article on your topic, you can use a citation database to track down related articles.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Over 16,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers. Includes some full text links. Access Scopus Tutorials online.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the world's leading citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Emerging Sources Citation Index; Index Chemicus; Book Citation Index; and, Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers the highest impact journals, including Open Access journals and conference proceedings.

Research Publishing & Impact

Publishing your research requires these steps in order to maximise your research impact.

Get published ... But, before you submit your publication, ensure you...
Increase your researcher visibility ... By sharing your research... and finally,
Track the citations for your publications ... To measure your research impact.

Research Lifecycle - refer to sections on Publish & Share, and Research Impact, for support as a new researcher.

The Research Publishing & Impact guide directs you to the key resources for getting published, establishing a researcher profile, and measuring and maximising your research impact.

Keep up to date
Set up an account then set up alerts to forthcoming research in various databases, including Google Scholar!

Finding Research Repositories

A research repository is a place to store an institution's intellectual research outputs. Try searching these sites to find more research:

Otago University Research Archive (OUR Archive)
Respository for research, including theses, produced at the University

NZResearch This link opens in a new window
Research documents produced at universities, polytechnics, and other research institutions throughout New Zealand

SSRN: Social Science Research Network
Open source (freely accessible) international research repository

Trove This link opens in a new window
Trove enables access to research from journal articles and papers and to Australian government sponsored working papers. It also provides access to grey literature not yet indexed by Google or Google scholar and to millions of overseas open access research articles.

Oral Health: Research Support