LibGuides: Theology: Open Access Resources

VERY HELPFUL TOOL

Unpaywall has a browser extension for Google Chrome which will find any open access/free versions of an article.
When you go onto a journal article which is behind a paywall, it will inform you if there is an open version somewhere else.

This will be very helpful for those who have graduated but want to continue to study, or those who are prepping for their PHD proposal.

Open Access (OA) is a new model of scholarly communication based on the principle that research should be freely accessible online, for anyone to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, link to etc. The advantages of Open Access include, making research easier to discover, wider dissemination of research, and increased citations.

The following video from phdcomics provides an engaging overview of the topic:

Publishing Open Access

Research Publishing & Impact LibGuide
Are you thinking about publishing your work in Open Access? There is tons of information available here!

Make sure you take a look at the University's Read and Publish agreements while you are there!

CRAAP Test - Evaluating Information

Evaluating Information (Te Ara Canterbury)

It is important to identify Good information from Bad information

The video will help you evaluate the information you come across

Evaluating Information (Pdf)

Resources - Use the tabs to explore

Open Access Digital Theological Library
The Open Access Digital Theological Library is a database solely dedicated to open theological sources. It has over 200,000 books and 10 million journal articles, as well as whole journals, databases and research aids. A very valuable resource.
ATLA: Research in Ministry
Research in Ministry (RIM) is a thesis and dissertation abstract database where users can search for and share the outcomes of research conducted in programs of study related to ministry, theology, and religion.
Our Archive Theology Collection
Our Archive is the University of Otago institutional repository. It is where all university reserach outputs are stored - including theses, journal articles, discussion papers, reports and books. The Theology Collection has hundreds of entries, from both lecturers and former students. Upon completion of your PHD, a digital copy of your thesis will also be stored here.
Globethics.net Library
The Globethics.net Library is an online library with an excellent Theology and Ecumenism collection. It contains journals, books and more materials. Please note that you will have to create a free account in order to access these resources.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a searchable directory of Open Access journals and articles from all disciplines
Stimulus
Stimulus, the New Zealand Journal of Christian Thought and Practice, is published by Auckland's Laidlaw College three times a year. It provides provocative and challenging material for thoughtful readers, drawing on a wide variety of material.
Ecclesial Futures
Ecclesial Futures is an international, ecumenical peer-reviewed journal. It publishes high-quality, original research and theological reflection on the development and transformation of local Christian communities and the systems that support them as they join in the mission of God in the world.
AWOL - The Ancient World Online
AWOL is a blog project of Charles E. Jones from Penn State University. It contains updates and lists of Open Access material relating to the ancient world. The link above leads to a list of 2064 open access journals and other materials (last updated January 2022).
Noyam Journals
Noyam Publishers is an independent academic publisher located in Ghana – West Africa. They publish peer-reviewed journals and academic books focusing on the research fields of Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, Religious and Theological Studies.

Books @ ATLA Open Press
The mission of this project is the publication of open access works on subjects at the intersection of librarianship and religious/theological studies that potentially impact libraries. They seek to provide resources that guide and support innovative library services and enhance professional development. Titles published by Books@Atla Open Press fall within three categories: Scholarly Editions, Association Editions and Reprints.
While these books have a heavy preference towards theological librarianship - there are plenty of relevant materials for non-librarians & students.
Tyndale University Reading Room Archives
The Tyndale University has a reading room archive which has lists of accessible Theology books. Of particular relevance may be the New Testament Reading Room and the Old Testament Reading Room. Please note that these reading rooms are no longer maintained or curated so some links may be dead. It is still a great resource regardless.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education. It also contains daily devotions and the writings of early church fathers.
Directory of Open Access Books
The Directory of Open Access Books is a community driven database with over 62,000 academic peer-reviewed books. It is a multi-disciplinary service, but has a strong Theology & Christian collection.
Internet Archive Open Library
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published. This includes not only religious texts, but everything from general fiction to art to cookbooks, In order to borrow books you need to register (for free).

Atla Digital Library
The ATLA Digital Library contains digitised theological materials from libraries, religious institutions and other organisations. It has texts, records, maps, photographs, recordings and more.
They also have the Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative which provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons and much much more. A highly valuable resource for primary sources.
Presbyterian Research Centre
Our collections tell the story of the Presbyterian Church in Aotearoa New Zealand. It’s the story of a diverse range of people; Scottish settlers and Māori, missionaries and ministers, the families of Chinese goldminers and new New Zealanders from the Pacific and beyond. It’s a story of women and of young people and communities. It’s a story of the good times and the hard times, the times that we truly lived out the Gospel and the times that we struggled with challenges and division.
Pūmotomoto
Archives from the John Kinder Library in Auckland. It features digitized collections of Anglican and Methodist church newspapers, synod proceedings and reports, photographs, memorabilia and manuscripts
Pūtake
More archives from the John Kinder Archive - this is specifically focused on name records from Anglican sources. Lists of names from published sources are free for anyone to access.
Entries in the baptism, marriage and burial registers of the Anglican Church in Aotearoa New Zealand and Polynesia - Te Hāhi Mihinare ki Aotearoa, ki Niu Tīreni, ki ngā Moutere ō Te Moana Nui a Kiwa, are accessible by subscription only:
3 month access: $20 NZD
6 month access: $25 NZD
The Digital Dead Sea Scrolls
Hosted by the Israel Museum, The Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Project allows users to explore the ancient manuscripts. It gives users access to searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of the scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history.
Digital Vatican Library
Digital Vatican Library is a digital library service. It provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects).
The British Library: Discovering Sacred Texts
Discovering Sacred Texts provides access to the richness and diversity of the texts from some of the world’s greatest faiths. Discover more about the sacred texts from Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Sikhism and the Baha’i Faith, Jainism and Zoroastrianism.
Europeana
Europeana is a european cultural heritage depository featuring 50+ million digitised items from over 4,000 different institutions. They focus on European materials including manuscripts dating back to the 8th century.
Papers Past
Papers Past is an Aotearoa New Zealand focused database of newspapers, magazines, journals, letters, diaries, parliamentary papers and books. It is not Theology focused however is a great source source of New Zealand historical sources.

Bible Gateway
A search engine that allows searching across 200 versions of the Bible in over 70 languages.
Hymnary
A searchable archive of hymnal music. It includes sheet music, MIDI files, and background information.
King James Bible: Online Study Bible
A study resource for the King James Bible. Contains some really helpful resources including a dictionary, concordance search, study library and an atlas.
Blue Letter Bible Biblical Languages Resources
A very helpful list of resources to assist in the study of biblical languages.

Institutional Repositories

Image from Chanakya Research

An institutional repository is a platform where academic institutions archive and disseminate their research outputs. They are a treasure trove of theses, journal articles and book chapters, and are often Open Access.

OUR Archive: University of Otago
Otago University's Institutional Repository
CurateND: University of Notre Dame
University of Notre Dame Theology collection
DASH: Harvard Divinity School
The Harvard Institutional Repository
ORA: Oxford University Research Archive
The Oxford University Theology department repository
University of Pretoria
Links to an Open Access LibGuide from the University of Pretoria in South Africa. They have 3 different theological repositories: Theology, Practical Theology and the Reformed Theological College.
This page also provides links to 11 other institutional repositories in South Africa.

The University of Otago's Centre for Theology and Public Issues is the first research centre in New Zealand to examine political, social and economic issues from a theological perspective. The website has a selection of resources produced by the centre including articles, podcasts, and lectures.

Theologic Libraries Across Aotearoa

There are many Theological Libraries across the country whose resources you may be able to use. The list below shows membership information, contact details and the home delivery service status of libraries in major centers across Aotearoa.

North Island

John Kinder Theological Library
Auckland
Free to join if you are a member of an Anglican or Methodist Church. Others may be granted membership upon payment of a fee.
Offers distance services.
Has both physical and electronic resources.
Laidlaw College Henderson & Manukau
Auckland
Free to use print resources in the physical library
Subscription is required for borrowable resources and Eresources for $180 a year or $80 for 6 months

South Island

Hewitson Library at Knox College
Dunedin
Free to join
Offers home delivery service
Has excellent print and online collections The National Presbyterian Archives is also on site.
Theology House
Christchurch
Free to join
Offers home delivery service
Membership also allows access to the Laidlaw College collection
This is a physical collection only - there is no access to E-resources.
Laidlaw College
Christchurch
Free to use print resources in the physical library
Subscription is required for borrowable resources and Eresources for $80 for a full year.